Drivers Ed in Delaware
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Delaware
If you're a new teenage driver, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed course to meet the requirements of the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) graduated driver's licensing (GDL) program.
Driver's education will not only help to prepare you for your DMV written and road tests, but it can also help make you a safer, more experienced driver.
On this page you'll find information about Delaware driver's education and the next steps you'll need to take to receive your first full driver's license.
DE Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
In Delaware, all new drivers younger than 18 years old must complete a Driver's Ed course.
Once you complete the course, you'll be able to apply for your learner's permit and move on to the next steps of the Delaware DMV GDL program.
To enroll in a Driver's Ed course, you must be enrolled in a Delaware public school, private school, or be home-schooled.
New Delaware Residents
If you are new to Delaware and have already completed an out-of-state Driver's Ed course, you can submit your completion certificate to the Department of Education:
- By mail to:
- Department of Education
- Collette Education Resource Center
- 35 Commerce Way, Suite 1
- Dover, DE 19904
- By fax to (302) 739-1780.
For more information, please call (302) 857-3320.
About Your Delaware Driver's Ed Course
Driver's Ed programs in Delaware are approved by the DE Department of Education and can be taken at your high school for free. If you fail the course, you will need to register for an adult driver education program (also offered at your school) and pay a fee.
For specific details about your school's driver education program and your options for enrollment, please contact your school or the Delaware Department of Education at (302) 857-3320.
NOTE: If you are home-schooled, contact the DE Department of Education or your local school district to see where you can complete your Driver's Ed program.
Driver's Ed Course Curriculum & Hours
Your Delaware Driver's Ed program will consist of both classroom sessions and in-car training over a period of at least 44 hours. Your course will be broken down into a minimum of:
- 30 hours of classroom lessons.
- 7 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.
- 7 hours of in-car observation.
You'll cover topics including:
- Traffic laws and safety.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Anticipating hazards and managing risks.
- Operating a vehicle.
- Driving in different conditions.
- Sharing the road.
NOTE: If you do not pass your driver's education course, you may need to pay a fee and take it again. If you have an Individual Education Program, you may be given special considerations.
After Driver's Ed – Getting Your Learner's Permit
Once you complete your driver's education course, you'll be able to move on to the next steps of the Delaware DMV GDL program by obtaining your level 1 learner's permit. You'll need to:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have your parent, legal guardian, or an authorized adult sponsor you.
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 12 months.
- Practice supervised driving for the first 6 months.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.