Car Insurance in Delaware
Car Insurance in Delaware
Delaware law requires you to be able to cover costs associated with car accidents in which you may be involved. The best way to comply with these laws is by having car insurance.
Read more to learn all about Delaware car insurance requirements, rules, rates, and discounts.
Delaware Car Insurance Requirements
To fulfill Delaware’s car insurance requirements, you must have liability insurance to help you pay for costs related to injuries, death, and property damage resulting from a car accident you cause.
Your policy must include at least the following minimum coverage limits:
- $15,000 for injury or death per person.
- $30,000 for total injury or death, per accident (if multiple people were injured in said accident).
- $10,000 for property damage, per accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Delaware law also requires you to have personal injury protection (PIP), commonly known as “no-fault car insurance.”
While liability insurance helps you with costs associated with injury or damages to others in an accident you caused, PIP will help pay for your medical costs regardless of who caused the accident.
The minimum limit requirements for PIP in Delaware are:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury to multiple people involved in one accident.
PIP will also help pay up to $5,000 for funeral expenses.
Optional Car Insurance
When shopping for car insurance, consider purchasing other coverages that can help further protect you from unexpected costs.
Most Delaware car insurance companies offer the following types of optional coverage:
- Collision – This will help cover damages to your car after a car accident.
- Comprehensive – This will help cover damages to your car in several cases that are not accident related.
- Uninsured/underinsured – These coverages help cover your costs after an incident involving drivers who have no car insurance or inadequate car insurance.
- Towing and labor.
NOTE: While Delaware law does not require you to have collision and comprehensive coverages, you may have to purchase both as part of your car’s finance or lease agreement.
Delaware Proof of Insurance
As a way to monitor that registered vehicles remain insured, the Delaware DMV can perform audits on cars for proof of insurance.
If you are audited for your car insurance, contact your car insurance provider to request them to submit a Delaware Insurance Certification (Form FR-19). This form can only be submitted through your insurance company.
Additionally, you will be required to show proof of insurance any time you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured
If you are caught and convicted in Delaware for driving without car insurance, you face the following penalties:
- A minimum $1,500 fine upon your 1st offense.
- A minimum $3,000 fine for each subsequent offense within 3 years.
- Driver’s license suspension of 6 months.
Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan
Car insurance companies have the right to turn down drivers they deem “high risk” due to poor driving records. For example, a driver with multiple accidents on their record is likely to be turned down.
If you are having a difficult time finding car insurance in the open market, you can apply for insurance through the Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan (DAIP).
All auto insurance companies in Delaware are members of DAIP and share the risks of insuring high-risk drivers equally.
You can apply for DAIP coverage through any Delaware car insurance company.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rates
A number of different factors go into determining your Delaware car insurance rates.
When shopping for car insurance, keep in mind that the following will factor into your rates:
- Your driving record.
- Your age and gender.
- Your marital status.
- Your car’s:
- Your set deductibles (the amount of out-of-pocket expenses you are responsible for towards a claim).
- The higher your deductibles, the lower your premium.
- The amount of coverage.
Delaware laws limit the way insurance companies can use your credit history.
Car insurance companies in Delaware can use your credit history to help determine your premium rates when you first obtain coverage with that company.
Your credit cannot be used to increase your rates once you already have insurance with one company and renew with that same insurance company.
However, you can request that your current insurance company review your credit if you believe it has improved and can help you get a lower rate.
DE Insurance Discounts
A great way to save on car insurance in Delaware is by taking advantage of discounts.
When comparing car insurance quotes, inquire about the following discounts:
- Safety device.
- Good driver.
- Good student.
- Defensive driver.
- Anti-theft device.
While discounts will help you get cheap car insurance, the best avenue towards low rates is by having a driving record that reflects safe and violation-free driving.
Most Stolen Cars in Delaware
Driving a car that is often targeted for theft can increase your car insurance rates.
The following is a list of the most stolen cars in Delaware for 2013, according to www.nicb.org:
- Honda Civic.
- Honda Accord.
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size).
- Ford Pickup (Full Size).
- Nissan Altima.
- Chevrolet Impala.
- Dodge Caravan.
- Ford Explorer.
- Nissan Maxima.
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!