- Location: Delaware
Applying for a New CDL in Delaware
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue you a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) if you qualify and you meet all the requirements. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has jurisdiction over inter-state commerce so they, too, have requirements you must meet before you can drive a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Delaware.
If you are able to get a CDL in Delaware, consider yourself privileged, because only 5% of Delaware drivers even qualify for the CDL.
You must be 18 years old just to apply for a CDL, and, you need to have at least one year of on the road driving experience. Even at 18, your CDL does not allow you to drive a commercial motor vehicle outside the state of Delaware. You must be 21 to drive across state lines.
Delaware and the FMCSA require you to be medically fit. You will have to be able to pass the driver physical so you can carry a medical card with you when you are driving a commercial vehicle.
Suspensions, revocations, and serious driving violations will disqualify you when it comes to getting a CDL.
Visit a DMV office for the CDL application. You will need to prove your identity and your residency. Some documents you might find convenient to use are your regular Class D driver's license and a valid DE car registration. The Required Document Table lists primary and secondary documents you can use to prove who you are and where you live.
After you complete the application you will need to pass the written test. If you have studied the Commercial Driver's Manual, which is available online using the free Adobe Reader, and understand all the rules and laws, then you are prepared for the written knowledge test. There are several tests you might need to take, depending on which class and endorsements you want on your CDL.
In Delaware, once you've passed the written knowledge tests and paid a $48 fee, plus $5 per endorsement, you will be issued a CDL Learners Permit.
The CDL Learners Permit is valid for six months. You can use the learning period to practice your driving and build your confidence in handling a commercial motor vehicle.
Just 10 days after you get the CDL Learners Permit you can return to the same DMV office where you passed the written test and take the skills exam. You should consider riding out the 60 days to get the most out of your practice time.
During the 60 day CDL Learners Permit period you will want to stay accident and violation free so that your driving record remains clean. Also, be sure to comply with your restrictions which include having a licensed CDL Adult Driver in the commercial motor vehicle.
Now that you have taken the written exams and practiced with your CDL Learners Permit you are ready for the road skills test. The Commercial Driver's Manual has some really great diagrams showing how you will be tested.
Before you even get behind the wheel, you will want to complete a thorough pre trip inspection and show the licensing official that you are safety minded. The pre trip helps you to inspect your commercial motor vehicle for road worthiness. The FMCSA also has procedures for pre trip inspections and vehicle condition reporting.
The first skills test will score you for turning, backing, and parking. The course is designed to test your ability to stay inside the lines and to back easily without too many pull ups.
The driving portion of the skills test will be on an established route chosen to present you with several different driving challenges. You need to prove to the DMV that you can handle the commercial motor vehicle on the road, through intersections, down and up hills, and on the expressway or interstate.
Good with words? If the route you are tested on doesn't have any hills, intersections, or interstates then you may have to describe to the licensing official how you would drive through those situations. For example, when making a left hand turn through an intersection which lane will you use to make your turn? Explain it to the licensing official as best you can.
Reviewing the diagrams in the Commercial Driver's Manual will help you to visualize the road skills test. While you are still driving with your CDL Learners Permit be sure to practice all the moves you will be tested on. Being prepared will go a long way in helping you to succeed in passing the road skills test.
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Delaware DMV by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.
Submit a completed self-certification application by:
- Faxing to: (302) 739-2602; Attention―CDL Department
- Mailing to:
- Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle
- Attn: CDL Department
- P.O. Box 698
- Dover, DE 19901
Questions? Call (302) 744-2572 and ask for a medical certification customer service representative.
From the very beginning of America, the federal government took control of interstate commerce. Under the federal umbrella, this means that business between the states becomes a concern of the federal government. Federal jurisdiction of interstate commerce applies to Delaware―The First State―and all of the United States.
Delaware is located just a few hours north of Washington DC, right on the major north-south route. If you are using your CDL for work, chances are you will probably need to drive across state lines. You need to understand and comply with all the federal laws―specifically, the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986.
The Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 was designed to improve highway safety. Its purpose was to ensure that drivers of commercial vehicles are qualified to drive them, and to remove unsafe drivers from the highways. The Act didn't require federal driver licensing―states still license commercial drivers―but it established minimum standards that states must meet when issuing commercial driver's licenses (CDLs). It required states to upgrade their existing programs to follow the new federal standards.
Before the Act was passed, many commercial vehicle drivers operated vehicles they were not properly trained on or qualified to drive. Even in states that had separate license classes, drivers were not necessarily tested in the types of vehicles they would be driving. States must now test commercial drivers according to federal standards, to ensure that drivers know how to operate the trucks or buses they intend to drive.
The Act also made it illegal to have more than one driver's license. You can hold a regular or commercial driver's license, but not both. You can have one license from the state you reside in, but not from any other states. In the past, bad drivers could more easily hide their driving histories by getting several licenses. Today, all the states are connected to a national database to check driver histories.
To be eligible for a CDL, you must have a clean driving record. Federal regulations require you to pass a physical exam every two years. To operate a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce, you must be at least 21. Many states allow those as young as 18 to drive commercial vehicles within the state. You must be able to read and speak English well enough to read road signs, prepare reports, and communicate with the public and with law enforcement.
The Act established three separate classes of commercial driver's licenses. Every state issues licenses in these categories:
- Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.
- Class C: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.
Many states, like Delaware, make exceptions for farm vehicles, recreational vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and some military vehicles.
Operating a commercial vehicle that you are not licensed for is a serious violation so be sure you understand what you need before you apply. Many states, like Delaware, make exceptions or waivers for farm vehicles, recreational vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and some military vehicles.
To be licensed for certain types of commercial vehicles, extra testing is required. If you pass, you will receive an endorsement on your CDL. These are the five endorsements that you can apply for. Each requires between one and five knowledge (written) tests, and two require driving (skills) tests.
- T―Double/Triple Trailers (knowledge test only)
- P―Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)
- N―Tank Vehicle (knowledge test only)
- H―Hazardous Materials (knowledge test only)
- S―School Buses (knowledge and skills tests)
Some of the endorsements will require you to take a road skills test at a later date. Of course, the CDL Class requirement will also include a road skills test. For now, though, you have passed the written knowledge test and it is time to practice.
In the interest of public safety on the highways, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations require interstate commercial drivers to be medically fit to operate their vehicles safely and competently. You are required to have a physical exam and carry a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certificate if:
- You operate a motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or gross combination weight rating (GCWR) or gross vehicle weight (GVW) or gross combination weight (GCW) of 4,536 kilograms (10,001 pounds) or more in interstate commerce.
- You operate a motor vehicle designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, in interstate commerce.
- You operate a motor vehicle designed or used to transport between nine and 15 passengers, for direct compensation, beyond 75 air miles from your regular work-reporting location, in interstate commerce.
- You transport hazardous materials in quantities requiring placards, in interstate commerce.
You must carry a current copy of your medical examination certificate with you when you drive. Residents of Mexico or Canada who drive in the United States can be certified by doctors in their countries, provided they meet the U.S. requirements.
There are no federal standards in place for on-the-road commercial driver training. The government only requires that you take and pass your CDL knowledge (written) and skills (driving) tests. Longer-combination-vehicle (LCV) drivers must receive training in driver wellness, driver qualifications, hours of service, and whistleblower protection.
Delaware's Commercial Driver's Manual is a good place to learn basic information, but you will need to be professionally trained to drive a commercial motor vehicle.
In order to pass your driving skills tests, you will need to learn how to inspect vehicles before driving, learn how to couple and uncouple tractors and trailers, and have plenty of practice driving. This includes driving in different conditions and on different road surfaces, turning, parking, backing up, and braking.
Many motor carriers train their employees, while other drivers take courses at private driving schools, vocational or technical schools, and community colleges. Individual states often approve or certify training courses. The Professional Truck Driver Institute (PTDI) has set minimum standards for training curriculums and certifies driver training courses that meet industry and Federal Highway Administration (FHA) guidelines. Many employers require their drivers to take PTDI-approved training.
Some states may specify minimum training guidelines. Check with your state's motor vehicles department to see if there are minimum training requirements to get your CDL.
Under the USA PATRIOT Act, commercial drivers transporting hazardous materials (hazmat) must pass a background records check and be fingerprinted. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is responsible for conducting the background checks for all commercial drivers with hazmat endorsements or who want to add hazmat endorsements to their licenses. The TSA developed this program to carry out the USA PATRIOT Act mandate and protect citizens from the potential threat of terrorists using hazmat cargo. The requirement is a result of the USA PATRIOT Act (Public Law 107-56, Section 1012) and the Safe Explosives Act (Public Law 107-296, Section 1121-1123), ARS 28-3103(A)(2), and 49 CFR 1572.
If the TSA disqualifies you because of your background, you can appeal their finding or seek a waiver. However, if you are found guilty of a disqualifying crime, you must declare any disqualifying conditions and surrender your hazmat endorsement (if you already have it) to your state's department of motor vehicles or other licensing agency.
Applying for a Hazardous Materials Background Check
After you get a CDL, apply for a background check from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) if you'll be obtaining a hazardous materials endorsement. You may do this online or by contacting a TSA agent. They will ask for:
- Your CDL or CDL permit number.
- Proof of legal status.
- Proof of Identity.
Next, the TSA will ask you to go to a fingerprint office to give your fingerprints. The TSA and the FBI will conduct background investigations. You will pay:
- $38 for fingerprints.
- $34 for the TSA background check.
- $17.25 for the FBI background check.
The TSA attempts to finish background checks within 30 days. You will be notified by mail. If you are approved, you can then go to your state's licensing authority (wherever you got your CDL) to complete your hazmat application process. If you are denied, you can appeal or seek a waiver.
- Hazmat endorsements must be renewed at least every five years.
- Your state might require renewal more often.
- Get a new background check each time you renew your hazmat endorsement.
You must arrange for the background check no less than 30 days before the expiration of your current approval, or your CDL may be canceled.
Conviction of any of the following crimes will disqualify you from being eligible for a hazmat endorsement:
- Assault with intent to murder
- Kidnapping or hostage-taking
- Rape or aggravated sexual abuse
- Immigration violations
- RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act) violations
- Unlawful possession, use, sale, distribution, or manufacture of an explosive device, firearm, or other weapon
- Distribution of, intent to distribute, possession, or importation of a controlled substance
- Dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation, including identity fraud
- Crimes involving a severe transportation security incident
- Improper transportation of a hazardous material
- Conspiracy or attempt to commit any of these crimes
Remember that your state also has its own guidelines that may be stricter than the federal ones. For more information, consult your employer, the DMV, or the Federal Motor Carrier Association.