- Location: Connecticut
Safety Laws in ConnecticutCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Anyone riding in the front seat of a vehicle, regardless of the occupant's age, must wear a seat belt. All rear-seat passengers between the ages of 4 to 16 must be restrained by an appropriate safety system.
Drivers not wearing a seat belt, or failing to ensure that occupants under the age of 16 are wearing a seat belt, can be charged with a $92 fine. A police officer may pull a driver over solely for not wearing a seat belt.
Children must ride in a proper child safety seat until they are over six years old and and 60 pounds. In addition, infants must ride in a rear-facing seat until they are one years old and 20 pounds.
After a child exceeds these limits, the child must be secured in a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt, until they outgrow the booster seat.
Failing to follow the child safety seat rules can result in a fine and an order to complete a car seat education class.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
If you need help installing a child seat or determining what type you need, make an appointment to visit a child safety seat fitting location and receive the assistance you need, at no charge to you.
Anyone riding a bicycle who is under 16 years old must wear a helmet.
The state provides practical safety information for bike riders of all ages.
Motorcycle operators under the age of 18 must wear a helmet. Drivers over 18 are required to wear a helmet if they only have a motorcycle permit, and not a motorcycle license.
Drivers of all ages must wear protective eyewear, such as goggles or glasses, unless the cycle is equipped with a windshield.
Drivers under the age of 18 aren't allowed to use cell phones (including the hands-free type) or any mobile electronic devices while driving. This includes personal digital assistants (PDAs) and text-messaging systems.
Motorists over 18 may only use hands-free cell phones while driving.
However, drivers of all ages are permitted to use a conventional or hands-free cell phone in an emergency situations, such as when calling for an ambulance or contacting law enforcement.
All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while behind the wheel.
Motorists may drive on these specialty tires yearly from November 15-April 30.
Headlights must be turned on whenever it's impossible to clearly see at least 500 feet ahead, during periods of precipitation, and from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
Anyone who leaves a child under the age of 12 unattended in a vehicle long enough that it represents a substantial risk to the child's well-being, could be found guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
Should this happen between 8 p.m.-6 a.m., the charge rises to a class C felony.
Motorists who detect a dangerous or possibly inebriated driver should call 911 to report it.Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation