Replacing a Lost License in Connecticut
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:If you've lost or damaged your Connecticut driver's license―or worse, it's been stolen―you will need to obtain a replacement license from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Driving without a valid driver's license in your possession can result in a citation, a fine, or other, stiffer penalties.
Unlike many other states, Connecticut does not yet offer license replacements online and only offers duplicates by mail under special circumstances (see below). Generally speaking, if you need to replace a lost, damaged, or stolen driver's license, you must visit a Connecticut DMV office and:
- Provide one form of identification if the DMV has your photo on file. Or two forms of identification if it does not have your image on file.
- Pay the $30 duplicate license fee.
Although you should notify police if your license is stolen, you are not required to file a police complaint to obtain a replacement. You only need to replace a damaged license if the operator's information and photo are not readable.
Where to Go
You can have your Connecticut driver's license replaced at any full-service Connecticut DMV office, satellite office, or photo ID center. AAA and license buses cannot process duplicate licenses.
If you're at the DMV applying for a replacement license and cannot produce two approved forms of ID, you may request a 10-day temporary replacement from the DMV officer. This gives the license-holder 10 days to return to the DMV with the proper ID and obtain a full replacement license.
If you are temporarily out of the state or out of the country when your license is lost, stolen, or damaged, you can obtain a duplicate as long as the DMV has your photo on file. Keep in mind, if you have not renewed or obtained a new Connecticut license since 1994, it's likely the DMV does not have one of you. Because state law requires each license to display a photo, the DMV will not make an exception while you are outside state lines. Without a photo, you will not be allowed to replace or renew your license by mail.
Licenses by mail might also be requested by prison inmates and license holders older than 65 years old who have health issues that prevent them from appearing in person. However, these individuals must contact the License Processing Unit at (860) 263-5148 to make the proper arrangements.
The quickest way to get a replacement is to download an Application for Duplicate of Current Driver's License or Permit. Fill out the information, sign the form, attach a check for $30, and send it all to the address below. The duplicate will be mailed to you after three to five business days. If you are out of the country, the DMV will send the new license via air mail.
You also can write, fax, or phone the DMV at the location listed below and request a duplicate license. Make sure you include your name, date of birth, Connecticut address, current temporary address, Social Security number, and daytime phone:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- License Processing Unit
- 60 State St.
- Wethersfield, CT 06161
- Phone: (860) 263-5148
- Fax: (860) 263-5593
The DMV will process and send your application back to you at your temporary address in order for you to sign it. Return it with the fee indicated on the application and the DMV will mail a new license to your temporary address.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.