Menu

Driving Records in Connecticut

Driving Records in Connecticut

You can order your own or another Connecticut driver's driving record through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Driving records can contain information about your driving history and can be used:

  • To adjust insurance premiums.
  • By employers during background checks and pre-employment screenings.
  • By government agencies.

CT Driving Record Types and Information

The Connecticut DMV offers certified driving records, which contain information about your:

  • Traffic violations.
  • Convictions.
  • Driving record points.

You can order driving records by mail or in person. You cannot order driving records online.

Driving Record Points

When you violate traffic laws and/or cause accidents, the CT DMV will assign points to your driving record.

Points can lead to fines, a suspended driver's license, and higher car insurance premiums.

For more information please see our pages on the following topics:

CT Employer Driving Record Requests

Driving Records for Employment

Businesses can order Connecticut driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.

Order Now »

Although you can order a driving record directly from the Connecticut DMV, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.

You can request the driving record of another Connecticut driver if your request falls under one of the permitted uses, such as:

  • Government agencies and courts conducting official business and civil/criminal proceedings.
  • Employers and businesses verifying information during background checks.
  • Insurance agencies investigating claims and adjusting policy rates.
  • Individuals with written consent from the individual on the record.
A complete list of permitted uses can be found on your driving record request form.

By Mail & In Person Requests

To order Connecticut driving records by mail:

  • Complete a Copy Records Request Form (J-23).
    • Check the “Driving History" request under “License Records."
    • Identify and specify the appropriate code from the back of the form.
    • Complete section 1 and sign/date the application.
  • Include a check payable to “DMV" with your $20 driving record fee.
  • Submit a copy of your valid photo ID, such as your:
    • Driver license.
    • Non-driver ID card.
    • Passport.
  • Mail the above to:
      Department of Motor Vehicles
      Copy Records Unit
      60 State Street
      Wethersfield, CT 06161
    OR
  • Submit the above in person at your local CT DMV office.
  • Driving records requested by mail will arrive approximately 3 weeks after they are requested.

    NOTE: If you need to request multiple Connecticut DMV driving records, complete additional Copy Records Request forms.

    Ordering Your Own CT Driving Record

    By-Mail Requests

    To order your driving record by mail:

    • Complete a Copy Records Form (J-23).
      • Check the “Driving History" request under “License Records."
      • Identify and specify the appropriate code from the back of the form.
      • Complete section 1 and sign/date the application.
    • Include a check payable to “DMV" with your $20 driving record fee.
    • Submit a copy of your valid photo ID, such as a:
      • Driver license.
      • Non-driver ID card.
      • Passport.
    • Mail the above to:

    Department of Motor Vehicles
    Copy Records Unit
    60 State Street
    Wethersfield, CT 06161

    You will receive your certified driving record about 3 weeks after the CT DMV receives your request.

    In-Person Requests

    To order your Connecticut driving record in person, visit your local Connecticut DMV office:

    • Complete a Copy Records Request Form (J-23).
      • Check the “Driving History" request under “License Records."
      • Identify and specify the appropriate code from the back of the form.
      • Complete section 1 and sign/date the application.
    • Provide a valid form of identification, such as:
      • Driver's license.
      • Non-driver ID card.
      • Passport.
    • Pay the $20 driving record fee.

    Fixing Errors on Your Driving Record

    If there is an error on your Connecticut certified driving record, you should contact the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

    • Phone:
      • (800) 842-8222.
      • (860) 263-5700 within Hartford or out of state.
    • Email: dmv.phonecenter@ct.gov

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Be a Hero
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 0

heroes have registered as organ donors.

Looking for Driving Records in Another State?