Disability Plates and Placards in Connecticut
Disability Placards & Plates in Connecticut
In Connecticut, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues disability placards and license plates to those with qualifying disabilities.
Read below for application information about how to apply what a disability placard or plate entitles you to.
Connecticut offers both handicap parking placards and license plates.
A placard is hung on the front side of the rearview mirror. It is issued to people with a temporary or permanent disability.
The disability license plate replaces the regular license plate on vehicles. It is only issued to people with a permanent disability.
To obtain a placard or plate, you must have a qualifying disability or condition that affects your mobility.
CT Visitors with Disabilities
If you're visiting Connecticut and already have a disability placard or plate from your home state, you do not need to obtain one from the CT DMV.
You can use the handicapped-parking permit from another state; however, you must follow Connecticut's disability parking laws.
Disabled Parking Rules
In CT, disability placards and license plates allow you to park in on-street and off-street spaces reserved for persons with disabilities. These spaces will be signed.
In order to park in any of these designated spaces using the disability placard or plate, the person who owns the permit or plate must be in the vehicle as the driver or a passenger.
The CT DMV accepts applications for disability permits in several ways depending on the type of parking permit you are applying for.
You will need:
- The Special Permit Application and Impairment Certificate (Form B-225).
- Medical certification completed ON the application by one of the following licensed individuals:
- Physician or physician's assistant.
- Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN).
- Ophthalmologist or optometrist.
NOTE: You can also submit VA certification in place of medical certification.
- Payment for fees:
- Permanent placard: Free.
- Temporary placard: $5.
- License plate: Standard tax and registration fees.
Submitting the Application
Permanent disability placard applications can be submitted:
- By mail to:
- By e-mail to email@example.com.
- By fax to (860) 263-5556.
- In person at a Connecticut DMV office.
Handicapped Permit Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Temporary disability placard applications can be submitted:
- By mail to the address above.
- In person at a CT DMV office.
License plate applications can be submitted ONLY in person at a CT DMV office.
Your temporary disabled placard will be valid for 6 months only. If you still need the permit after this time, you must apply for a new placard (see “Apply for a CT Disability Permit" above).
Your permanent disability placard expires when your driver's license or ID card expires. These are usually valid for 6 years. Once your placard expires, you must re-apply using the same process as a first time application (see “Apply for a CT Disability Permit" above).
If your handicap parking placard is lost, stolen, or damaged, you can request a replacement by re-submitting the Special Permit Application and Impairment Certificate (Form B-225).
When applying for a replacement:
- If you have a new style permit that has an expiration date, complete ONLY the applicant section.
- If you have an old permit, you must complete the entire application, including medical certification.
For details about replacing license plates that have been lost, stolen, or damaged, see our Connecticut lost registration page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!