Commercial Driver FAQs in Connecticut
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
When do I need a Commercial Driver's License?
According to federal rules, you need a CDL to drive any of the following vehicles in any state:
- Class A CDL: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- Class B CDL: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.
- Class C CDL: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.
How do I apply for a Connecticut CDL?
You apply to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles. The process to apply for a CDL includes a 30-question written exam. If you pass the written exam, you are eligible for a CDL learner's permit. To obtain the full CDL, you will need to pass a skills exam, which includes a road test. If you pass the road test, you will be issued a basic CDL in whatever class you have applied for and have been tested on. You will still need to be tested on specific endorsements, like driving a hazmat truck or a school bus, before receiving a permit in these areas.
How much does it cost for a CDL?
Expect to pay $46 to take the written and skills exams for the CDL, plus $5 for each endorsement test. The CDL itself costs $60 every four years. See the Connecticut CDL fee schedule. Remember, those are just the official costs. You will likely also be paying for truck driving school, which can cost thousands of dollars.
Do I need to take classes to get a CDL?
There are no specific education requirements to obtain a Connecticut CDL, but you need to pass some difficult exams. You may want to do some research on CDL education before attempting the written exam. You will likely have to take classes to pass the skills exam, which involves a road test. The Connecticut DMV does not offer such classes, so you will need to find instruction from a commercial provider.
What physical requirements do I have to meet to get a CDL?
The only physical requirement is that you be 21 years or older. If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you can apply for an in-state CDL. There are specific physical and background checks mandated by the federal government for certain CDL endorsements.
Do I have to get a physical to obtain a CDL?
Yes. And the doctor needs to certify that you meet state standards on a Connecticut DMV form that must be turned in with your CDL application.
What are Connecticut CDL endorsements?
Endorsements are specialties above and beyond the basic CDL that require additional testing and licensing, such as the following:
- S―School Bus/STV
- N―Liquid Bulk/Tank Cargo
- H―Hazardous Material
How do I renew a CDL?
What if I lose or destroy my CDL?
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.