Car Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut Car Insurance
In Connecticut, all registered cars must be insured. Not adhering to this legal requirement can be costly.
Read below to learn all about Connecticut auto insurance requirements, laws, alternatives, and rates.
CT Car Insurance Requirements
In Connecticut, you are required to have liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:
- $20,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident.
- $40,000 for bodily injury, total per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage per accident.
The state of Connecticut also requires you to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to help with your medical bills after an accident caused by either:
- An uninsured driver.
- A driver who does not have adequate insurance coverage to pay your medical bills.
Your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage must have the minimum coverage amounts of:
- $20,000 per person.
- $40,000 total per accident.
Optional Car Insurance
Connecticut car insurance companies typically offer several other optional types of auto insurance coverage. These include:
- Collision – This will help cover accident-related damages to your car.
- Comprehensive – This will help cover damages to your car that are not related to traffic accidents, such as theft-related damages.
- Rental car.
- Emergency road service.
NOTE: Connecticut does not require you to purchase collision and comprehensive insurance. However, your bank or finance company will require you to purchase both collision and comprehensive coverage IF your car is under a loan or lease agreement.
Insurance and Registration
When registering your car in CT, you will need to complete an Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (Form H-13).
This form includes an insurance section where you must provide your:
- Insurance company’s name.
- Your policy number.
When you sign the form, you acknowledge that you’ll maintain the minimum Connecticut car insurance requirements while your car is registered.
Insurance Violations in CT
Your car insurance carrier is required to report cancellations of your insurance to the CT Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
When notified of your insurance cancellation, the DMV will send you a warning notice that will offer you the chance to buy car insurance and pay a $200 fine to avoid any further penalties.
If you do not respond to your first warning notice, you will be sent a suspension warning, which may require you to take part in a hearing.
A hearing may lead to:
- Suspension of your car registration.
- Loss of your privileges to renew or register any car.
Avoiding Registration Suspensions
In Connecticut, if your car insurance is canceled and you want to avoid fines and penalties that come with having your registration suspended, you can return your plates to your local DMV and have them canceled or put on hold.
If you want to keep your plates for a car you only drive seasonally, you can request a suspension of your liability insurance through your insurance carrier.
You cannot drive your car during any period of time in which your liability insurance is suspended.
You are required to carry both your registration certificate and car insurance ID card in your car at all times in Connecticut. If you are stopped for a traffic violation, you will be asked to show both to the officer.
If you cannot show both your car insurance ID card and your registration certificate, you will face a $50 fine.
Alternative Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Because liability insurance is required in Connecticut, state provisions exist to ensure that all licensed drivers have access to liability car insurance.
Drivers who are considered high risk for standard car insurance may be able to purchase their coverage through EITHER:
- A company that offers a non-standard insurance program.
- The Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
Non-Standard Car Insurance Market
If you are having trouble finding car insurance through the standard market, you may want to try purchasing your auto insurance with a company that offers non-standard car insurance in Connecticut.
Non-standard car insurance policies typically have higher rates than standard insurance; however, they are generally less expensive than purchasing through the CT assigned risk plan (see below).
Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan
If you cannot find an insurance carrier through either the standard or non-standard market, you can apply for insurance through the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
Connecticut car insurance companies must accept any applicant that comes through the assigned risk plan.
Premiums through the assigned risk plan are generally significantly higher than those of standard rates.
To get the best insurance rates possible, it is smart to shop for car insurance through the standard market and use these alternatives for high-risk drivers as a last resort.
Determining Your CT Insurance Premium
Several factors go into determining the cost of your insurance premium. These factors include:
- Your driving record.
- Your deductible.
- This is the amount of money you pay out-of-pocket for a claim.
- The higher your deductible, the lower your premium.
- The make, model, and year of your car.
- Your area of residence.
- Where you park overnight.
- Your credit score.
Maintaining a Low Cost Premium
When shopping for car insurance quotes, ask about discounts for which you may be eligible.
Most Connecticut car insurance carriers offer:
- Good driver discounts.
- Good student discounts.
- Multi-car discounts.
- Homeowners discounts.
- Anti-theft device discounts.
- Safety discounts.
While these discounts can save you a lot of money, one of the best ways to keep your car insurance premium low is by maintaining a good driving record. Obey traffic laws and drive safely to avoid accidents and save money.
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.Choose a State:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island