Paperwork When Buying a Car in Connecticut
Get detailed VIN History Report in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start a Search:
When you buy a car from a private party, first complete a proper title transfer and a Bill of Sale with the former owner. Then you'll need to go get a temporary registration, so you can get an emissions test and safety inspection.
To get the temporary registration, take the following paperwork to a DMV office:
- The car title, signed over to you.
- The Bill of Sale.
- A current Connecticut insurance card.
- Registration application (available at the DMV office, or by mail.)
The temporary registration fee is $21 and is good for 10 days.
If you are buying a car at a dealership, their staff will help you fill out and file the paperwork. Normally, a fee is charged.
A Bill of Sale is always smart to have for your records. It serves as your proof of purchase and protects you down the road should any questions arise. You can easily download one from our Bill of Sale page.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.