DUI & DWI in Connecticut
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
For the past two decades, Connecticut has been out in front compared to other states in the fight against driving while under the influence of alcohol (DUI). So you can expect to be hit hard if you get arrested for DUI, especially if you are under 21.
Keep these numbers in mind before you get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol: You are considered to be DUI if you register .08 or above on a blood-alcohol test. If you are under 21, you only have to register .02 or over. Blood-alcohol level depends on a lot of factors, including the amount of time between drinks, the amount of food in your body, your weight, and your physical condition.
When you get your driver's license, you are subject to an "implied consent" law, meaning that, by getting your license, you give your consent to be tested for DUI anytime. If you refuse a DUI test, you are breaking that implied consent law. Your license will be suspended, and you could lose your driving privileges for at least six months.
Connecticut has strong mandatory penalties, even for a first DUI offense. First, administrative penalties from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV):
- Loss of license for at least 90 days.
- Loss of license for at least six months for refusing to take a blood, breath, or urine chemical alcohol analysis test.
Second, criminal penalties from the state court system apply. These penalties result from a DUI conviction, and are imposed in addition to the administrative penalties from the DMV:
- First offense: One-year license suspension; six-month jail sentence, with 48 hours mandatory minimum time in jail, or a suspended sentence with 100 hours of community service; fine from $500 to $1,000.
- Second offense: One-year license suspension, followed by two years with ignition interlock device (for in-state violations featuring drivers who are at least 21); two-year jail sentence, with mandatory 120 days in jail; 100 hours of community service; fine from $1,000 to $4,000.
- Third offense: Revocation of license; three-year sentence with one-year mandatory time in jail; 100 hours of community service; fine from $2,000 to $8,000.
In addition to the official penalties listed above, you may incur the following:
- Towing costs
- Bail bond
- Attorney costs
- Missed work time
- Cost of mandatory alcohol education program
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Need Legal Help? Tips on Hiring a DUI Attorney
- Fines, Jail Time, Suspended License: DUI and DWI Bring Steep Penalties
- Were You Drunk Driving? DUI and DWI Explained
- Find Out How Much DUI and DWI Convictions Really Cost
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.