- Location: Colorado
Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Colorado
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
The definition of a moped under Colorado law is a two-wheeled vehicle that does not have an engine capacity of over 50ccs and cannot go more than 30 miles per hour on a flat surface. Most scooters fall under this category, though some are powerful enough to fall under the motorcycle category.
You do not need a motorcycle endorsement to ride a moped, but you do need a valid driver's license. Make sure you have this covered before hopping onto your moped.
You'll have to complete some paperwork to register your moped, but the procedure is fairly simple.
You'll need the following:
- A completed and signed application for motorized bicycle registration.
- If the moped does not have operable pedals, you must complete the Affidavit of Cylinder Capacity located on the second page of the application. Cylinder capacity cannot exceed 50ccs for moped registration.
- Proof of ownership. This can be a bill of sale, Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), or an affidavit of ownership.
- Payment of $5.25.
You can take the completed materials either to an authorized moped dealer, who will issue you your registration, or you can mail them to the following address:
- Colorado Department of Revenue
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- Registration Section
- Denver, CO 80261-0016
You can always visit the Registration Section in person at 1881 Pierce Street in Lakewood, CO 80214, though this option might take more time.
As of 2009, all scooter riders must carry proof of insurance.
Mopeds are all about community, so if you've just bought one, get ready to share the road with other two-wheeled enthusiasts. Below are a few fun ways to get more knowledgeable about the world of mopeds:
There are also relevant links if you visit our motorcycles and other vehicles guide.