Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Colorado
In Colorado, all registered vehicles, including motorcycles, must be compliant with the state's financial responsibility law. This is to help ensure that if you cause an accident, you will be able to pay for damages or injuries suffered by others. Maintaining motorcycle insurance is the most common way people do this.
Read more to learn about Colorado's motorcycle insurance requirements.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
You are limited to:
- Filling for self-service insurance. This option is only available to you if you have multiple vehicles registered in your name.
- Purchasing a motorcycle insurance policy that includes liability insurance.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're not sure whether your two-wheeled vehicle requires registration, which would necessitate insurance, call the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (303) 205-5600.
Colorado Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
You must carry the following amounts of liability insurance:
- $25,000―per person for bodily injury
- $50,000―per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000―per accident for property damage
Be sure to get multiple motorcycle insurance quotes from different carriers before deciding on a policy―it could save you a lot of money.
When shopping for motorcycle insurance you may discover that by just meeting the state's minimum requirements, you are not adequately covered. This can be especially true when you consider that liability insurance only covers other's damages or injuries, and not your own.
With this in mind, you should strongly consider purchasing some optional types of motorcycle insurance coverages. Common optional coverages include:
- Collision - This will help you pay for repairs to your motorcycle after an accident.
- Comprehensive - This will help pay for repairs to your motorcycle if it has been damaged in certain instances, such as theft, vandalism, fire, or natural disasters.
- Medical payments - This will help pay for your injuries after an accident.
- Towing and labor - Unfortunate events happen. You may find yourself stranded as your motorcycle breaks down one day. This coverage can provide emergency road side assistance or can even get your bike towed to a mechanic.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist - Even though car and motorcycle insurance is required in the state, several drivers remain uninsured. These coverages can help protect you if you get in an accident caused by one of these drivers.
While purchasing these coverages will result in increased motorcycle insurance rates, you may find that the comfort of mind they provide is well worth it.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Even though law officials can access your insurance information via a statewide database system, you still must carry one of the following while riding:
- A certificate of self-insurance.
- An insurance identification card from your carrier.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
Riding a bike with no proof of insurance will result in fines and suspensions.
If you need more information about motorcycle insurance requirements, and how to take care of any penalties you might receive, contact the DMV at (303) 205-5600.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!