Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Driving Records in Colorado

    Colorado Driving Records

    Check for tickets, points, and confirm your drivers license status with an instant self-check driving record from backgroundchecks.com.

    Each Driving Record May Include:

    • License Status:

    • Suspensions
    • Driving Status
    • Expiration
    • License Details

    • Classifications
    • Vital Data
    • Endorsements

    Helpful Resources:

    Personal Driving Record - $39.95

    Date of Birth:

    I have lived at this address for less than 2 years.

    Previous Address

    - Powered by BackgroundChecks.com -

    NOTICE: This is a standard non-certified driving record. For certified records, you must contact the Colorado DMV.

    Driving Records for Employment

    Businesses can order Colorado driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.

    Order Now »

    Although you can order a driving record directly from the Colorado DMV, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.

    Driving Records in Colorado

    A driving record, or Motor Vehicle Record (MVR), is an official document that contains your driving history. In Colorado, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) provides your driver records.

    There are many reasons to order a CO driving record, including:

    • An employer request to see it for work, legal, or potential employment purposes.
    • If you feel that you are a victim of identity theft.
    • To reduce your insurance costs.

    Types of Colorado Driving Records

    In Colorado, you can order a:

    • Non-certified motor vehicle record
    • Certified motor vehicle record.

    If you are unsure what type you need, check with the person who requested it before you order it.

    In Colorado, your MVR shows your complete driving history for the last 7 years. You cannot order a driving record for a period of less than 7 years.

    Some of the things you can expect to see on your driving record are:

    • License suspensions or revocations.
    • Traffic citations, violations, and fines.
    • Any accidents and/or points held against you.
    • License classifications and endorsements.

    Order Your Colorado Driving Record

    You can order your CO driving record in person or by mail. You cannot order a driving record from the CO DMV online.

    You will need to provide your:

    • Date of birth.
    • Driver’s license number (if you have it).
    • Signature.
    • A photocopy of your photo ID with signature.
    • Payment. See the “Fees for a Colorado Driving Record” section below.

    If you would like your non-certified CO driving record, you must take or send the above documents to any CO DMV licensing office.

    If you need a certified CO driving record, you must take or send the above documents to:

    Division of Motor Vehicles
    1881 Pierce Street
    Lakewood, CO 80214

    Your CO MVR will arrive in the mail within 14 business days.

    Employer and Court Requests

    You cannot request someone else’s CO driving records unless you are an employer, or you need it because of a pending court case.

    An employer may request to see your driving record for a number of reasons, including:

    • To use in a legal issue stemming from a lawsuit.
    • To make a hiring decision.
    • As part of a regular audit of your driving history when driving is associated with your work.

    The CO courts may also request your CO driving records as part of a legal proceeding.

    Order Another Person’s Driving Record

    If you need to request someone else’s Colorado driving record for any of the above reasons, you can do this in person or by mail.

    You will need:

    Be sure to specify your request of a certified or non-certified driving record.

    Take or send the above to:

    Department of Revenue
    Division of Motor Vehicles
    Driver Control Section
    1881 Pierce Street
    Lakewood, CO 80214

    The CO MVR you requested will arrive in the mail within 14 business days.

    Fees for a Colorado Driving Record

    The fee for a CO driving record depends on whether you order a certified or non-certified record:

    • Non-certified driver record: $2.20.
    • Certified driver record: $2.70.

    Accepted Payment Methods

    Colorado DMV offices accept payment by:

    • Cash.
    • Check made payable to the “Department of Revenue.”

    Credit or debit cards are not accepted.

    For mailed-in requests, payment must be made by personal check or money order made payable to the “Department of Revenue.”

    Correct Errors on Your CO Driving Record

    Although CO driving records are usually very accurate, if you happen to find an error on your MVR, you should contact the DMV by calling:

    • (303) 205-5600.
      OR
    • TDD (303) 205-5940.
    Organ Donation Survey

    Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?

    Yes No

    Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.

    Update Your Organ
    Donor Information ▸