Drivers with Disabilities in ColoradoPage Overview
Colorado Drivers with Disabilities
According to Colorado statutes, a disabled driver is one who cannot get about without the assistance of a "mechanical device" or who has a general physical impairment that makes parking close to entrances a great help. Your physician has the discretion to assign this disability status to you, depending on your condition. If you fall into either of these categories, you might be eligible to receive a handicapped parking placard or disability license plates.
If you have questions about your eligibility to receive a handicap parking placard, your personal physician may be able to help.
If you have questions about any of the application requirements or handicap parking permit privileges, please contact the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
To apply for a disability parking permit in Colorado, you'll need to:
- Fill out and sign (or have a representative sign) the Persons with Disabilities Parking Privileges Application (Form DR 2219) and return it to a local Colorado motor vehicle office.
- Before submitting the form, you must have it signed by a licensed Colorado doctor or Commissioned Medical Officer (CMO).
If the disability is temporary, you will be assigned a placard that is valid for up to 90 days; otherwise, you will be issued the standard placard that is valid for 3 years. There is no charge for either disability parking placard.
You must hang the placard from the rearview mirror in plain sight. You can use it in any vehicle the applicant is driving or riding in as a passenger.
Traveling Colorado Residents & Out-of-State Travelers
If you are disabled and planning a trip to another state, you may take along your Colorado placard. As long as the placard is current and belongs to either the driver or a passenger in the vehicle, it should remain valid in any state. Also, Colorado honors other states' placards that meet the same requirements.
To apply for a handicap license plate, you'll need to take the following steps:
- Complete the Persons With Disabilities Parking Privileges Application (Form DR 2219), sign it, and return it to a Colorado motor vehicle office. The form must be certified by a CMO or doctor licensed in Colorado.
- Provide a copy of the vehicle's title or registration showing that the applicant owns (or co-owns) the vehicle.
- If you would like the Handicapped Disabled Veteran License Plates issued by the state, you need to follow the above procedures AND also furnish a written clearance on the appropriate letterhead from the Department of Veterans Affairs or from your branch of military service. The document needs to state that you became permanently disabled as a result of your service and that the disability is rated as 50% or higher.
Plates need to be renewed annually and cost nothing more than the general registration fees.
If a placard or license plate is stolen, you need to file a police report and notify a Colorado motor vehicle office without delay.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸