Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Renewing Your CDL in California

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Your California commercial driver's license (CDL) must be renewed. Changes in state and federal law have forced changes in the process, especially for those who hold a hazardous materials endorsement.

    How to Renew Your CDL

    The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will send you a renewal notice specifying which renewal options are open. The options are renewing by mail, online, or by appearing in person at a local DMV office.

    For a Class A, B, or C commercial licenses, the renewal fee is $41. There are additional fees to add an endorsement or remove a restriction, as well as further testing.

    Renewing a Hazmat Endorsement

    A major change to the CDL requirements is that if you currently hold a hazmat endorsement, you must undergo a background check conducted by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). The USA Patriot Act requires this to better control hazardous materials, for public safety.

    Schedule an appointment with a TSA agent to initiate the process. Do this online.

    To get information on how to get hazmat endorsements to begin with, be sure to read our Applying for a New CDL page.

    Medical Clearance

    The DMV requires all CDL holders to submit a medical certification every two years, so if it's been that long for you, you'll have to make an appointment with your doctor to fill out a medical examination report.

    Your employer must pay for the exam if you need a CDL to do your job; and if you're getting the exam after you already have the job.

    If You Carry Passengers

    If you drive a school bus, pupil activity bus, youth bus, general public paratransit carrier, or farm labor vehicle, your medical examination report must be signed by either a medical doctor or a doctor of osteopathy. No other health practitioner signatures will be accepted.

    New Federal Requirements

    You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the California DMV. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

    • Non-Excepted Interstate
    • Excepted Interstate
    • Non-Excepted Intrastate
    • Excepted Intrastate

    If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: