Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Arizona

    CDL Suspensions in Arizona

    If your Arizona commercial driver’s license (CDL) is suspended/disqualified by the Department of Transportation (DOT) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), you must satisfy your suspension requirements to have it reinstated.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial AND non-commercial vehicles, including:

    • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
    • Refusing a blood/alcohol test.
    • Using your vehicle to commit a felony.

    On this page you’ll find information about your suspended Arizona CDL and how to reinstate it.

    About Your AZ CDL Suspension

    The duration of your Arizona CDL suspension/disqualification and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.

    NOTE: You may need to satisfy both Arizona MVD AND additional court requirements if you are convicted of criminal charges.

    Your Arizona CDL will be suspended for reasons including:

    • Failing to submit medical certification documents or meeting medical standards.
    • DUI/DWI convictions.
    • Leaving the scene of an accident you were involved in.
    • DUI/DWI convictions.
    • Alcohol/drug-related offenses.
    • Failing to pay a ticket or appear in court.

    NOTE: A BAC of 0.04% or higher in a commercial vehicle can result in a DUI. If you have any alcohol detected in your blood/breath, you will be placed out of service for 24 hours.

    In addition to state laws, commercial drivers are also subject to federal regulations controlled by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), including:

    • License disqualifications and fines for violating out-of-service orders.
    • Suspensions and disqualifications ranging from 60 days to life for violations and convictions including:
      • Violating railroad-highway grade crossings.
      • Excessive speeding and reckless driving.
      • DUI/DWI offenses and leaving the scene of an accident.

    For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be suspended for violations committed in non-commercial vehicles. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Arizona page.

    CDL Suspension Hearings and Appeals

    If you disagree with the circumstances of your CDL suspension/disqualification, you may request an Arizona MVD administrative hearing.

    MVD hearings have no effect on criminal proceedings and decisions in an Arizona court.

    NOTE: If your commercial driver’s license suspension or revocation was classified as mandatory, you cannot request a hearing.

    To request a hearing:

    • E-mail your request through the AZ MVD online system.
    • Complete a Hearing Request form and mail it to:
        Executive Hearing Office
        Arizona Department of Transportation
        P.O. Box 2100
        MD 507M
        Phoenix, AZ 85001
    • Request it in person at any Arizona DMV office.
      OR
    • Fax your request to (602) 241-1624.

    After the AZ DMV receives your request, your hearing will be scheduled within 30 – 35 days. If you are requesting a hearing outside of Tucson or Phoenix, your hearing may take up to 60 days to schedule.

    NOTE: Your suspension or revocation may be put on hold until your hearing is completed. Check your notice to see if this applies to you.

    If you disagree with the outcome of your hearing, you may be able to request a re-hearing at the Executive Hearing Office located in Phoenix at 3737 N. Seventh St., Suite 160.

    If you’d like to appeal the decision of your hearing, you must do so through the Arizona superior court.

    For more information about administrative hearings, visit the Arizona MVD website.

    DUI Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions

    In Arizona, you can be found guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) if you are intoxicated with either alcohol or drugs. In addition to other penalties and criminal convictions (listed below), you will need to:

    • Complete mandatory alcohol screening, education, or treatment.
    • Complete mandatory community service.
    • Install a certified ignition interlock device (IID) on any vehicle you operate.

    If you are caught with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04%–0.15% while driving a commercial vehicle, you will receive the following penalties and criminal convictions:

    • 1st offense:
      • Jail time of at least 10 days.
      • A fine of at least $1,250.
    • Subsequent offenses:
      • Jail time of at least 90 days.
      • $3,000 fine or more.
      • 12-month license revocation.

    If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.15% or higher, you will receive the following penalties and criminal convictions:

    • 1st offense:
      • Jail time of at least 30 days.
      • A fine of at least $2,500.
    • Subsequent offenses:
      • Jail time of at least 120 days.
      • A fine of at least $3,250.
      • 12-month license revocation.

    If you refuse an alcohol test your license will be suspended for 12 months OR 24 months, depending on the number of offenses you’ve had. You will also need to complete alcohol or drug screening before you can reinstate your license.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are convicted of multiple DUI offenses or alcohol test refusals, your CDL will be revoked for life.

    Reinstate Your Arizona CDL

    Your CDL reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your suspension or revocation.

    NOTE: If your CDL has been disqualified for 1 year or more, it is considered expired (invalid), and you will need to pass all written and driving tests and pay the necessary application, licensing, and reinstatement fees.

    Failure to Pay a Ticket or Appear in Court

    To reinstate your suspended CDL for failing to pay a ticket or appear in court, you will need to:

    • Satisfy any court requirements/fines and submit clearance documents.
    • Obtain a court clearance receipt or a Court Abstract form from the court listed on your suspension notice.
    • Take the receipt/abstract and fees to your local AZ MVD office. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your AZ CDL” below.)

    Other Suspensions

    For all other CDL suspensions, you will need to pay the reinstatement fee and driver’s license application fee (see “Fees to Reinstate Your AZ CDL” below).

    You can do this online or in person at your local AZ MVD office.

    NOTE: If your photo is not on file with the AZ MVD, you will need to pay these fees in person.

    You will also need an SR22 from your insurance company to prove your financial responsibility, if your suspension was due to:

    • A DUI court-conviction.
    • Refusal or failure to complete a drug or alcohol test.
    • Violating car insurance laws.

    You must maintain this proof of financial responsibility for 3 years from your license reinstatement date.

    Revocations

    To reinstate a revoked Arizona CDL, submit a Revocation Investigation Packet at the end of your revocation period to the AZ MVD, using the address specified on the form. If you receive a “Permission to Apply Notice” once the investigation is complete, you can apply for your CDL to be reinstated.

    You’ll need:

    • Your “Permission to Apply Notice.”
    • An SR22 from your insurance company, for alcohol/drug-related revocations.
    • Payment for the reinstatement and driver’s license application fees (see “Fees to Reinstate Your AZ CDL” below).
    • Proof you have installed an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, if required.

    Take the above to your local AZ MVD office, or reinstate your CDL online by visiting the ServiceArizona website.

    Failure to Submit Medical Information

    If your CDL was suspended/revoked for failing to submit medical certification information, you can reinstate your license by submitting this information:

    Obtain a Restricted License in AZ

    You can only obtain a restricted Arizona driver license if your suspension was caused by an insurance law violation or DUI.

    NOTE: You cannot use a restricted license to drive a commercial vehicle.

    A restricted driver’s license allows you to drive to and from work, school, and other authorized locations in a non-commercial vehicle during your suspension.

    For more information on how to obtain a restricted non-commercial driver’s license, visit our Suspended License in Arizona page.

    Fees to Reinstate Your Arizona CDL

    You will need to pay both AZ Motor Vehicle Department reinstatement fees and driver’s license fees to reinstate your suspended or revoked license.

    • Reinstatement Fees:
      • Suspension: $10.
      • Revocation: $20.
    • Commercial Driver’s License Fees:
      • Class A/B: $25.
      • Class C: $12.50.
    • Driving Skills Test Fees:
      • Class A/B: $25.
      • Class C: $12.50.

    For more information on commercial driver’s license fees, contact the Arizona MVD:

    • By phone:
      • Phoenix: (602) 255-0072 or TDD (602) 712-3222.
      • Tucson: (520) 629-9808.
      • Everywhere else: (800) 251-5866 or TDD (800) 324-5425.
    • Online: Use the AZ MVD online contact form.

    Accepted Forms of Payment

    The Arizona MVD accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person: Cash, cashier’s check, money order. Credit cards are accepted in some offices; contact your local AZ MVD office for more information.
    • By mail: Cashier’s check and money order.
    • Online: VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover credit/debit card.

    NOTE: AZDOT does not accept personal checks to pay reinstatement fees.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: