Renewing Your License in Arizona
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Your driver’s license expires at age 65. If this birthday is coming up, it’s your responsibility to renew the driver’s license, so you aren’t driving illegally. You can renew six months before the expiration.
A new photo and replacement license is required every 12 years.
You must also have adequate insurance to drive in the state. Double-check to make sure you’re adequately covered every few years, as your situation may have changed. The easiest way to do this is by shopping the Insurance Center
You don’t need to renew your license until you turn 65, whether you have a Class D Operator’s License, or a Motorcycle Class M license.
- Renewals are only done in-person at an MVD Office.
Commercial drivers have special renewal requirements.
If you’re not sure what your license status is, you can check your driving records.
If for some reason you didn’t make it into the DMV before you turned 65, there’s still time. As long as you go in to renew it within the year, the fee will still only be $10. If you are uncertain of the status of license, you can get a copy of your driving record.
If you're not sure about whether your license is suspended or close to being suspended due to too many citations, check your driving record. If your license has been suspended, you’ll have to pay a fee ranging anywhere from $20 to $200.
After you get your license reinstated, you may find yourself with higher insurance rates. Now is the time to look for new insurance to help you find the lowest possible rate.
Duplicate licenses cost $4.
Arizona Driver Licenses are good until you turn 65 years old. No renewal notice is sent out.
You must get a new photo taken every 12 years, and you will get a notice telling you to come in for a new photo and a replacement license.
You may not renew by mail or online. To renew, be prepared to:
- Complete a Driver License/Identification Card Application.
- Bring your current license as your primary identification. If the MVD cannot locate your photo in their files, you'll need to provide a secondary form of identification.
- Have a new photo taken.
- Take a vision test.
- Pay the $10 renewal fee.
- Select the most convenient MVD office.
The new license is good for five years.
Because you only need to renew at age 65, you might be getting rusty on your driving abilities. Taking a supplemental traffic school course helps you to learn new traffic laws and reinforces what you may have forgotten. It may also save you money on car insurance, especially if you’re a senior driver.
Call your insurance company and ask if they offer such a discount. If not, try shopping around for a break. You could be surprised at how much you’ll save.
Each state’s motor vehicle agency has different renewal policies for drivers in the military.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback