Personal Injury Attorneys in Arizona
It can be difficult to know what to do after you've been injured in an auto accident. A personal injury attorney will show you what you need to do and help you gather all you need to successfully get compensated for your injuries. When you've decided to get legal help, follow our tips for hiring a personal injury attorney in Arizona.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Personal injury is a broad category of incidents that cause bodily injury. In most cases, the law allows victims to sue the at-fault party (or their insurer) for compensation to help pay for time lost from work, medical bills, and pain and suffering.
When you've been hurt in a car accident, it's essential to know your rights and take all appropriate actions. Some of the most important things you can do when in an injury accident, such as filing a police report and documenting medical costs, are easily forgotten in a crisis. However, these simple steps will be necessary if you decide to file a lawsuit.
A personal injury attorney is experienced with the steps required after an injury-causing accident and can make sure you do all you need to do to successfully get compensated.
Consulting a personal injury lawyer gives you leverage with the involved insurance companies and helps you protect your case. Because personal injury cases can get complicated quickly, having a lawyer by your side helps give you security in knowing you rights will be represented.
It is particularly important to seek legal counsel when:
- Fault for the accident is being debated/is unclear.
- One or more driver is uninsured or underinsured.
- Your injuries are very serious.
- Your medical bills are substantial.
- You've experienced pain and suffering or other non-economic losses.
- You're unable to work and are losing wages as a result.
When to Consult a Personal Injury Lawyer
In addition to police reports and medical bills, you will need to furnish documentation of insurance claims and contact information for everyone involved. If you do decide to contact a lawyer, it is best to do so
soon after the accident, when the details of the incident are still fresh in the minds of those involved.
Statute of Limitations
The state of Arizona has a time limit of 2 years for filing a personal injury lawsuit. As such, if you are injured in any kind of accident for which you are at fault and plan to sue, your case must be filed within 2 years of the incident.
If you wait to hire a personal injury lawyer, you may go past the statute of limitations and miss your chance to get your case heard in court.
What About Fees?
Most personal injury lawyers in Arizona offer free initial consultations, and many will charge attorneys' fees only when a settlement is reached.
When you go to hire an attorney, it's important to do your due diligence so you make a good choice. Remember to ask some basic questions of the attorney, such as:
- How much experience do you have with cases like mine?
- How many cases have you won?
- What is your education?
- What are your fees? When do I have to pay them?
- How can I contact you?
- What do you think of my cases? How long do you think it will take to resolve?
Because many attorneys offer free consultations, you can do your research before hiring a specific lawyer. This helps you make the best decision possible.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!