Pay Traffic Ticket in Arizona
Depending on the Arizona county you received your traffic ticket in, you may be able to pay your ticket fines online, by mail, by phone, or in person.
To determine your options for paying a traffic ticket, you'll need to refer to your AZ ticket or contact the traffic court directly.
To learn how to pay your traffic ticket your receive in Arizona, continue reading this page.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Accumulate driving record points (sometimes leads to license suspension or revocation).
- Pay higher auto insurance rates.
- Possibly use Defensive Driving Program to satisfy ticket and avoid point accumulation.
Learn more below.
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest the ticket during a hearing.
- Represent yourself or hire a traffic ticket lawyer for help.
- Possibly lose the chance to plead to lesser charges.
- Pay only attorney fees (and possibly court costs) if found not guilty.
- Appeal the verdict, if found guilty.
Learn more about
fighting your traffic ticket »
In Arizona, when you plead "guilty" or "no contest," it means you're admitting you are guilty of the offense, or have no proof or case for your innocence.
You may be able to:
- Pay your AZ traffic ticket fine online or by phone, and avoid a trip to the courthouse.
- Take advantage of plea bargains and suffer lesser penalties. Generally, this is up to the judge and requires a court appearance.
- Enroll in a defensive driving program to satisfy the traffic ticket and avoid accumulating driving record points. (Our vehicle code and point system pages provide more information about how points can affect your driving privileges.)
- Avoid an auto insurance rates increase after completing traffic school.
Check your AZ traffic ticket for the date by which you must respond to the charge; missing this date can lead to a driver's license suspension. If you've misplaced your traffic ticket, check our section on replacing lost AZ traffic tickets or contact your Arizona county court. If your traffic citation is on a city level, contact the city court for more information.
Also, understand that if enrolling in a defensive driving program is an option for you, you must complete the course at least 7 days before the hearing date printed on your traffic ticket.
Plead Guilty as a CDL Driver
If you're a commercial driver's license (CDL) holder, you must notify your employer within 30 days after being convicted of a traffic violation. If you were guilty of a traffic violation in another state, you'll also need to notify the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT).
Aside from that, you'll handle traffic tickets in much the same way as those with regular driver's licenses. You'll plead "guilty" and deal with the penalties, or plead "not guilty" and fight your traffic ticket in court.
The only difference is that you won't have the option to enroll in a defensive driving program to dismiss your traffic ticket. You may also face penalties more severe than accumulating points and paying higher auto insurance rates.
Plead Not Guilty in Arizona
In some cases, pleading "guilty" or "no contest" and paying your AZ traffic ticket fine isn't your only option. You can also plead "not guilty" and fight the ticket in court.
Learn more at Fighting Your Traffic Ticket.
Most commonly, if you have delinquent court financial obligations (i.e., traffic ticket fines), you can pay your fines online using the Arizona Courts Online Payment system.
If the Arizona traffic court doesn't consider your traffic ticket delinquent, you don't have your court case number (or the notice number on the collection notice), or your traffic citation doesn't show up when you enter your information in the system, you must contact your county court or the city court printed on your traffic ticket to find out acceptable payment options and methods.
Some county and city courts allow drivers to pay AZ traffic ticket fines directly through their own websites.
If you're not eligible to pay your AZ traffic ticket fine using the state's website or telephone system, you must pay directly to the proper traffic court.
Check your ticket for information about where you received the ticket and the court in charge of your case. You must pay the fine to this court.
If you've misplaced your AZ ticket, or it doesn't include information about where to pay the fine, contact the court in the county where you received the ticket. A representative can look up your ticket information with some basic information like your name, address, and AZ driver's license number.
Once you know which court is in charge of your Arizona traffic ticket, you can access its website via the Arizona Courts Locator. Using this tool, you can find the website for each court by county, as well as the state appellate courts.
NOTE: If your AZ traffic ticket is on a city level, you might not be able to use the state's courts locator tool; however, your ticket should include the appropriate court and contact information.
When you visit your court's website (or call your city court) for an AZ traffic ticket, you'll find one of two things:
- Direct instructions on how to pay your traffic ticket fine.
- Contact information to call and ask how to pay your traffic ticket.
If you must call your court to find out how to pay your ticket fine, be sure to ask about:
- Phone, mail, and online payment options, just in case you miss this information on the court's website.
- Payment methods. Find out whether personal checks, cash, money orders, and/or credit cards are accepted.
- Your deadline or hearing date. Generally, this is printed on the AZ traffic ticket, but if you've lost your ticket or it doesn't include a date, be sure to ask.
If eligible, you can use Arizona's defensive driving program to satisfy a traffic ticket and avoid point accumulation related to that violation.
Registration and eligibility varies by school, but you should be able to use a defensive driving course if:
- Your traffic violation is eligible. (Some violations require judge approval.)
- Your traffic violation was not associated with a serious injury or fatal accident.
- You do not have a CDL.
- You can complete the course at least 7 days before your hearing date.
For more information, visit our section on AZ defensive driving and point reduction.
Check Your AZ Driving Record
Once it's all said and done, check your Arizona driving record to make sure:
- Only the appropriate number of points show up (if you pleaded "guilty" and paid your fine).
- No points show up (if you opted to complete a defensive driving course).
Under normal circumstances, you can talk with the AZ DOT about driving record points; however, if you see points on your driving record related to a traffic ticket for which you complete a defensive driving school, you need to notify your court.
Shop for Better Auto Insurance Rates
It's common for auto insurance providers to increase your rates for an AZ traffic violation conviction. When you plead "guilty" and pay your ticket fine, you're considered “convicted" of the violation.
Talk with your insurance agent about how a traffic conviction might affect your rates when you renew your policy. You might find it's time to start comparing insurance quotes online to find more affordable coverage.
NOTE: Your insurance rates should not increase if you complete a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal and point avoidance.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!