- Location: Arizona
Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Arizona
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Mopeds and scooters are certainly popular forms of transportation in Arizona, so let's take a quick look at these vehicles.
According to state lawmakers, a moped is a bicycle with a helper motor that has a piston displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less, a brake horsepower of 1 1/2 or less, and a maximum speed of 25 mph on a flat surface.
Mopeds or scooters that can be driven at speeds of 25 mph or higher, will require you to have an M endorsement on your driver's license, or a motorcycle license.
Mopeds need to be registered, but not titled. It costs $5 to register a moped at a Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) branch office, and you'll need to renew your registration every year. (For proper registration procedures, see our registration section.) You'll also pay a license tax fee of $4.50 every year.
Place your registration decal on the front of the moped.
Moped drivers need financial responsibility coverage (insurance) of at least:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability for one person.
- $30,000 bodily injury liability for two or more persons.
- $10,000 property damage liability.
Depending on its makeup, a scooter could be categorized as a motorcycle, a moped, or even a motorized bicycle. It's important to know where your vehicle falls under these categories, because different rules and procedures apply to each category.
As such, follow the appropriate guidelines outlined either in this article or in our Motorcycles section. Also, be sure to check out these informative articles:
According to state law, a motorized bicycle:
- Has a helper motor with a maximum piston displacement of 48 cubic centimeters and that may also be self-propelled.
- Has a maximum speed of less than 20 miles per hour.
These vehicles don't need to be titled or registered, and don't require a driver's license to drive one.