Special Vehicles in Arizona
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
In this section, we'll take a look at all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), golf carts, and trailers.
Every ATV needs to have a title, regardless of how you will use the vehicle. If you buy the vehicle from the dealer, the seller will handle this matter. If you buy from a private seller, you'll need to apply for a title at an Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office. See our Title Transfers section for details on the titling procedure. You don't need to bring the vehicle to the MVD location.
The MVD will give you an off-road license plate with "RV" (for "recreational vehicle") printed on the state. Affix the plate on the rear of the vehicle.
This plate means you cannot ride on streets or highways. Instead, you may only ride on dirt roads in unincorporated areas of Arizona. State lawmakers define a dirt road as an "unpaved or ungraveled road that is not maintained by this state or a city, town, or county of this state."
You need to purchase an official, off-highway vehicle (OHV) decal each year and affix it to your license plate if your vehicle:
- Was designed mostly for use over unimproved terrain.
- Has an unladen weight of less than 1801 pounds.
See the state FAQs page on this matter for more information.
NOTE: As of April 1, 2011, the Arizona Game and Fish Department will send you a notice about your expiring decal. However, you'll still need to obtain the decal through the MVD or an MVD third party service provider. Save time by ordering the decal online.
Riding on Public Roads
If you want to ride your ATV on the state's streets or highways, several factors come into play.
For starters, the vehicle must be "street-legal," as defined in the Guide to Arizona Off-Highway Vehicle Laws, Rules, and Regulations brochure from the Arizona Game and Fish Department. You might need to make some alterations to your vehicle to make it street legal.
Then, you must register the vehicle at an MVD office. See our other registration sections for details about the documentation you'll need to supply.
You'll need to carry insurance to ride your ATV on roads or highways. Be sure to have your registration and insurance card with you when riding the vehicle.
All riders must wear eye protection, such as goggles, and all riders under 18 must wear a helmet. Be sure to obey all traffic laws and regulations.
You'll pay a vehicle license tax based on the manufacturer's amortized base retail price of the vehicle. You'll also pay the following fees:
- Title: $4
- Registration: $8
- Air quality research: $1.50
- License plate: $6
Golf carts don't need to be titled or registered providing they're not being driven on public roads.
Trailers―not to be confused with recreational vehicles―need to be titled and registered. The process for both is similar to what you'd experience with a car. However, trailers are eligible for a permanent registration for a one-time fee of $125.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Learn Your State’s Requirements for Snowmobile Titles and Registration
- You Built It, You Register It: Titling and Registering Custom-Built Vehicles
- Find Out How to Title and Register Your RV or Motorhome
- When Do You Need to Title and Register Your Trailer?
- ATV Title and Registration Requirements
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.