Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Arizona
To drive is to put yourself at risk on the roads. The state of Arizona wants drivers to be protected in the event of an accident and so it requires all riders to have motorcycle insurance.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
The simplest way to show financial responsibility in Arizona is to get a liability insurance policy from a motorcycle insurance company licensed in Arizona.
Self-insurance is an option only if you own 10 vehicles or more, and is geared more toward dealers or owners of corporate fleets. To apply to self-insure, complete a Certificate of Self-Insurance Application (Form 46-0602). Certification requires extensive documentation and a surety bond of 1 million dollars, among other things.
The bottom line is, if you want to ride your motorcycle on state roads, you need one of the following:
- A policy for motor vehicle liability insurance
- Certificate of self-insurance (if you own 10 vehicles or more)
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
- Motor-driven cycle― is a motorcycle that is originally manufactured to exceed 20 MPH, is rated
- at 5 HP or less (5 HP refers to a motor with 49 to 80 cc displacement) and has no more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground. This definition includes motor scooters rated at 5 HP or less. A motorcycle license or endorsement is required.
- Both a title and registration are required.
- Emissions testing is not required.
- Vehicle liability insurance is required.
For purposes of this response, the term 5 HP generally refers to a motor with 49 to 80 cc displacement.
- a helper motor that is 50 cc or less.
- a 1.5 hp or less braking power.
- a rated maximum top speed of 25 MPH (on a flat surface with less than a 1% grade).
- Phoenix area: (602) 255-0072
- Tucson area: (520) 629-9808
- Rest of the state: (800) 251-5866, toll-free
Arizona Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Arizona requires a minimum level of coverage. You can, of course, opt to purchase more coverage and protect yourself even better from financial risks, but it's up to you.
The required minimum amounts of motorcycle liability coverage are:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in one accident
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident with 2 or more people
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident
Liability insurance covers other people injured in an accident, but it doesn't cover your own injuries. As you are getting your motorcycle insurance quotes, look into the wide range of coverage options, including comprehensive and collision coverage.
Get familiar with the various types of insurance coverage before you make a final decision on a policy. It's important to get the coverage that will work best for your financial situation and motorcycle.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
The amount of motorcycle insurance coverage you have does not affect helmet requirements in Arizona.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Because insurance providers keep the MVD in the loop about new policies, cancellations, and non-renewals, it's easy for the MVD to track who's insured and who's not. It's a serious issue to the state when your insurance lapses or is canceled.
If you're not able to show adequate proof of insurance coverage after receiving an inquiry from the MVD, your motorcycle registration―and sometimes even your driver's license―will be suspended.
State law requires you to insure only those vehicles that you operate on public roads, including motorcycles, mopeds, and golf carts. But if your vehicle is temporarily non-operational―because you're restoring it, for instance, or due to seasonal storage―you don't need to maintain coverage until it becomes operational again.
De-insuring your motorcycle simply means the MVD won't hold you liable or suspend your registration when the bike is not insured.
To de-insure your motorcycle, complete a De-Insured Certificate (Form 46-0602) online.
Of course, as soon as your bike becomes operational again, you will need to insure it. And if you ride a motorcycle that is de-insured, you face suspension of your registration and possibly your license.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
If you find yourself with no proof of motorcycle insurance, the penalty is suspension of your motorcycle registration and possibly your driver's license.
To clear a suspension, you need to:
- Provide proof of insurance for the period of the alleged coverage lapse, or
- Submit an SR-22 form, which is a document certifying that you now have the required liability coverage, and pay a reinstatement fee. The SR-22 form must be from an insurance provider authorized to do business in Arizona, and it must be held on file at the MVD for 3 years.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!