Drivers Ed in Arizona
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Ed in Arizona
As part of the graduated driver's license (GDL) program, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) requires you to either take a driver's education course or complete supervised driving practice before applying for your graduated Arizona driver's license.
If you complete an Arizona Driver's Ed course, the AZ MVD may waive the behind-the-wheel portion of your driver's license test.
Arizona Driver's Ed includes both in-classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel driving instruction with an approved supervisor.
Regardless of whether you choose to take an Arizona Driver's Ed course or just complete the 30 hours of supervised driving hours, you must first apply for your AZ instruction permit/learner's permit. You must:
- Be at least 15 years old and 6 months.
- Pass both written and vision tests.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Arizona page.
We all know that practice makes perfect. Prepare yourself for your written exam with an Arizona practice test, and pass on your first try!
Once you have your Arizona graduated learner's permit, you can begin your behind-the-wheel practice either with your parent or with a trained instructor (see “Types of Driver's Ed Courses in AZ" below).
Since a driver's education course teaches not only the basics of your vehicle and Arizona driving laws, but also gives you valuable defensive driving tips and hazard prevention methods, many parents and teens choose to utilize the benefits that an approved Driver's Ed course provides.
If you choose to enroll in a driver's education course, the curriculum consists of:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction (with a certified instructor).
Before applying for your graduated AZ driver's license you should study the AZ driver manual.
NOTE: If you have a valid out-of-state driver's license, you do NOT need to satisfy the AZ driver's education, driving practice, and learner's permit requirements.
You have the option to take Arizona driver's education from either a:
It is important not to confuse Driver's Ed with traffic school or defensive driving schools, which are taken by those who have received traffic tickets and driver's license suspensions.
To be eligible to apply for your graduated license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old but under 18 years old.
- Have held an Arizona learner's permit for a minimum of 6 months.
- Have completed an approved AZ Driver's Ed program OR completed 30 hours of supervised driving time:
- 20 hours during the day.
- 10 hours at night.
NOTE: If you didn't complete an Arizona driver's education course, your parent or legal guardian must certify that you have completed the behind-the-wheel driving requirement in writing.
For more details about applying for your graduated license in Arizona, please visit our page about Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Arizona.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!