Car Insurance in Arizona
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
ARIZONA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS
- Official Website of Liberty Mutual Insurance
- Providing Insurance Since 1912
- See How Much YOU Could Be Saving!
Arizona Car Insurance
Arizona requires that all drivers show financial responsibility for damages that may be incurred in an accident.
This can take one of two forms:
- Proof of liability insurance.
- Certificate of deposit of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer.
You must show this proof as soon as you become a resident of Arizona. AZ residency is established by any one of the following:
- Working in Arizona.
- Registering to vote in Arizona.
- Being in Arizona for at least 7 months in a calendar year.
- Paying in-state tuition for yourself or your children.
- Owning an Arizona-based business with in-state vehicles.
- Owning a business that transports people or materials within AZ.
In addition to liability insurance, Arizona car insurance carriers offer optional types of coverage, as well as various discounts to save you money.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
In Arizona, you must prove financial responsibility, meaning you must show you can pay for damages in the case of an accident.
Most people choose to do so by showing proof of Arizona car insurance; however, the state of AZ will accept a payment of $40,000 as proof of this responsibility. If you are caught driving without proof, for your first offense you could face:
- A $250 fine.
- License/registration suspension for 3 months.
Subsequent violations will result in higher and more serious penalties.
If you choose to prove financial responsibility through auto insurance, you must carry liability insurance.
Liability insurance helps pay for damage to others’ property and injuries sustained by other drivers in an accident for which you are found at fault.
The required amounts of liability coverage in Arizona are:
- Bodily injury coverage:
- $15,000 per person.
- $30,000 total per accident.
- Property damage coverage:
- $10,000 per accident.
You can purchase more extensive auto insurance coverage by increasing your limits and adding optional coverage.
As mentioned above, you can opt out of insurance by keeping $40,000 in a certificate of deposit (CD) account assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer.
Contact the Arizona State Treasurer’s office at (602) 542-7800 for more information on how to open an account.
Optional Car Insurance in Arizona
Arizona car insurance agents also offer a variety of optional insurance coverage types that provide further protection.
Common optional car insurance coverage types include:
- Collision coverage: Pays for damage to your vehicle that you cause.
- Comprehensive coverage: Pays for damage to your car caused by external factors like weather, theft, or wildlife.
- Uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage: Pays for damage or injury caused by drivers without auto insurance or whose insurance limits do not cover your costs.
- Medical payments coverage: Provides additional coverage to pay medical expenses.
- Rental reimbursement coverage: Reimburses you if you need to rent a car after an accident.
- Full glass coverage: Pays for repairs and replacements to your windshield and other glass.
NOTE: If you are financing or leasing your car, you may be required to buy collision coverage and comprehensive coverage.
AZ Proof of Insurance
You must show proof of insurance when:
- You register your car in AZ.
- You are stopped by a police officer.
- You are involved in a car accident.
Accepted forms of proof of insurance include:
- An insurance card from your Arizona car insurance company.
- A copy of your auto insurance policy.
- An image of your insurance card on a mobile device.
Insurance Violations and Penalties
If you drive without car insurance in AZ, your driver’s license and vehicle registration can be revoked.
The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) is notified electronically of suspended, canceled, and non-renewed auto insurance policies and will contact you if your insurance is no longer valid.
If your AZ auto insurance has been suspended or canceled in error:
- Contact the Arizona Department of Insurance in writing within 10 days to object to the cancellation.
- Send your letter by mail to:
Director of Insurance
State of Arizona
Department of Insurance
2910 North 44th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85018
If you do not have Arizona car insurance and your driver’s license and/or car registration are revoked or suspended, see the Suspended AZ Driver's License section.
Reinstating a Driver’s License and/or Registration
If your AZ license and registration have been suspended or revoked for failure to have car insurance, ADOT will require:
- A reinstatement fee:
- Suspended license: $10 plus an application fee.
- Revoked license: $20 plus an application fee.
- An application fee:
- 39 years old or younger: $25.
- 40 - 44 years old: $20.
- 45 - 49 years old: $15.
- 50 years old or older: $10.
- Proof of future financial responsibility.
- SR-22 certification.
SR22 Certification in Arizona
An SR22 certification is the most common proof of future financial responsibility.
The SR-22 is required to reinstate an AZ driver’s license and/or vehicle registration after revocation or suspension for the following violations:
- Failing to have minimum liability coverage.
- An alcohol or drug violation, e.g., DUI.
If you’re required to have an SR-22, your auto insurance company must file it with ADOT Motor Vehicle Services, usually for 3 years.
An SR-22 form can be expensive, and the longer you need one, the more it costs. The best way to avoid this requirement is by maintaining coverage and driving safely.
AZ Car Insurance Regulation
Car insurance in Arizona is regulated by the Arizona Department of Insurance.
The Department of Insurance can help consumers with auto insurance questions or concerns and includes a fraud investigation unit.
Consumer Assistance in AZ
If you have an issue or concern with your AZ car insurance company, the Arizona Department of Insurance recommends that you first contact your car insurance provider with your concerns.
If you are dissatisfied with the resolution offered by your auto insurance company, you can then ask the Department of Insurance to investigate.
You can contact the Arizona Department of Insurance by mail or by phone:
- By mail:
Consumer Services Division
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N. 44th St.
Phoenix, Arizona 85018-7256
- By phone: (800) 325-2548.
Include all the relevant facts of your auto insurance concern when contacting the Department of Insurance.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in AZ
Fraud costs insurance companies money, which can result in increased premiums for everyone.
Insurance fraud can include:
- Filing false claims.
- Forging insurance documents.
- Selling insurance without a license.
If you suspect car insurance fraud in Arizona, you can report it to:
- The Arizona Department of Insurance Fraud Unit: (602) 364-2140.
- The National Insurance Crime Bureau: (800) TEL-NICB.
The NICB also accepts reports by text. Text “FRAUD” to TIP411.
Arizona Car Insurance Rates
Arizona car insurance rates, or premiums, are based on many factors, including:
- Credit report.
- Driving record.
- This could include the driving records of other drivers who live with you.
- Your car’s:
- Usual location.
These factors can increase or decrease your Arizona car insurance rates.
Credit Reporting and Auto Insurance
Arizona car insurance companies are legally allowed to use your credit report to help determine the insurance rate they quote you.
Most auto insurance agencies will use an insurance score, which is based on your credit, to determine your car insurance rates.
A poor insurance score can result in being denied coverage or having insurance coverage terminated.
Traffic violations can raise your insurance rates because they appear on your driving record. Violations that appear in your record include but are not limited to:
- DUI/DWI violations.
- Reckless driving.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Failing to stop at a signal.
Your auto insurance company may not look at at violations on your record that occurred 40 months ago or longer.
Keeping a clean driving record can result in cheaper insurance rates.
Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
If you are unable to find an Arizona car insurance agent who will cover you, Arizona has an assigned risk plan that insures high-risk drivers.
If you are a high-risk driver, an assigned risk plan makes sure that you can get the required minimum coverage, even when insurance companies turn you down.
The rates for assigned risk plans are high, so you should shop around as long as possible before seeking coverage through this avenue.
You can apply for coverage under the Arizona Automobile Insurance Plan (AAIP) through any licensed auto insurance agent or broker.
AZ Car Insurance Discounts
Many Arizona auto insurers offer discounts that can help you get the cheapest rate on your car insurance.
The discounts offered and the amount you will save varies from company to company.
When making car insurance comparisons, ask about possible rate discounts for:
- Multiple vehicles on one policy.
- Multiple policies with one insurance company.
- Accident free drivers.
- Good grades for student drivers.
- Safety features in your car, such as air bags.
- Anti-theft features in your car.
To get affordable rates in Arizona, be sure to compare car insurance quotes from multiple insurance companies, consider a higher deductible, and drive safely.Choose a State:
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims