Search
Search & Choose State

How Long Points Stay on Your Driving Record

Date posted: 06/10/2012

by Melissa Crumish on
in DMV Point System

722 How Long Points Stay on Your Driving RecordDMV points are your driving record’s version of splinters, bothersome and annoying until finally removed. How long the points remain on your driving record depends on your state.

  • Alabama: Two years.
  • Alaska: Two points are reduced for every year of violation-free driving.
  • Arizona: Three years.
  • Arkansas: Three years.
  • California: Three years.
  • Colorado: Two years.
  • Connecticut: Two years.
  • Delaware: Two years.
  • Florida: Three years.
  • Georgia: Two years.
  • Hawaii: No point system.
  • Idaho: Three years.
  • Illinois: No point system.
  • Indiana: Two years.
  • Iowa: No point system.
  • Kansas: No point system.
  • Kentucky: Two years.
  • Louisiana: No point system.
  • Maine: One year.
  • Maryland: Three years.
  • Massachusetts: Six years.
  • Michigan: Two Years.
  • Minnesota: No point system.
  • Mississippi: No point system.
  • Missouri: Eighteen months.
  • Montana: Three years.
  • Nebraska: Two years.
  • Nevada: One year.
  • New Hampshire: Three years.
  • New Jersey: Three points deducted for every year of driving violation free.
  • New Mexico: One year.
  • New York: 18 months.
  • North Carolina: Three years.
  • North Dakota: Three years; however, one point is deducted for every three-months of violation-free driving.
  • Ohio: Three years.
  • Oklahoma: Points reduced to zero if you drive three-consecutive years without a violation.
  • Oregon: No point system.
  • Pennsylvania: Three points removed for every 12 months of violation-free driving.
  • Rhode Island: No point system.
  • South Carolina: Two years.
  • South Dakota: Complicated system, but points do begin falling off after 12 months.
  • Tennessee: Two years.
  • Texas: Three years.
  • Utah: Two years, provided you maintain a spotless driving record.
  • Vermont: Two years.
  • Virginia: Two years
  • Washington: No point system.
  • Washington D.C.: Two years.
  • West Virginia: Two years.
  • Wisconsin: Five years.
  • Wyoming: No point system.

Keep in mind that this list only pertains to how long points remain on your record. Violations, such as those from traffic and speeding tickets can remain longer. In Arizona, for example, points last two years on a driving record, while violations last five. In Wisconsin, a DUI charge stays on a record for 55 years.

If you’re in danger of losing your drivers license due to points, look into the possibility of reducing your point total. Many states grant drivers this opportunity, usually requiring them to complete a state-approved traffic safety course. If this option is offered and you’re interested in enrolling, contact your Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a list of approved schools.

Remember: For many violations, point accumulation is just the tip of the iceberg. Depending on the infraction, you could face a variety of other fines and penalties.

Was this information helpful?

Yes No

Related articles

blog comments powered by Disqus