Safety Laws in ArkansasPage Overview
If you must use your windshield wipers to safely view your path of travel, you must also turn on your headlights.
Headlights must be turned on by 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise, in addition to whenever visibility is less than 500 feet.
It's illegal to drive using only your parking lights.
Cell phone use is banned for all drivers under 18 years old. Drivers between 18 years old and 20 years old, are banned from using hand-held cell phones while operating in school and highway work zones.
Unless it's an emergency, school bus drivers aren't allowed to use cell phones, including hands-free versions, while driving a school bus.
All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting.
Anyone riding on a motorcycle who is under 21 years old must wear a helmet.
All riders, regardless of age, must wear protective eye gear, such as glasses or goggles, or have a transparent face shield.
All front-seat occupants 15 years old and above must wear a selt belt. Anyone under 15 years old must wear an appropriate safety restraint, while children 5 years old and under OR less than 60 pounds must be properly fastened in an approved safety seat.
While Arkansas doesn't have a statewide number to call to report problematic drivers, the state encourages you to report these types of drivers to your local law enforcement office.
While the state doesn't have any specific laws concerning leaving children or animals unattended in vehicles, common sense dictates using extreme caution when doing so, especially during periods of excessive heat or cold. If you see an endangered child or animal, call 911 and give the vehicle location.
Children under 5 years old and under 60 pounds must be secured in a federally approved car seat or booster.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸