Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Renewing Your License in Arkansas

    Compare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) rates driving with an expired license as one of its top driving violations in the state and, therefore, guarantees that drivers who get pulled over with an expired license will get ticketed. So get your license renewed before it expires.

    Note: The following is for renewing your AR license, so if you are applying as a new resident or driver, then check out DMV.org’s first-timers page.

    Determine the Status of Your AR Driver’s License

    Valid Driver's License

    If you have a valid Class D or Class M driver’s license, then you must renew your license every 4 years by your birthday. You may do so by going in person to your local Revenue office (see below). Renewal requirements vary for other license types, such as for CDLs and learner’s permits.

    You must also make sure that you have paid any outstanding tickets or citations before renewing. If you’re unsure about your record, you can check your driver history.

    Expired AR Driver’s License

    If your driver’s license has already expired, then you have 31 days to renew it in person (see below) before you must retake the written exam that you took when you first applied for your license. There are no fees or fines for allowing your license to expire, but at no time may you drive with an expired license.

    Note: Make sure you have paid any outstanding tickets before applying to renew.

    Suspended Arkansas Driver's License

    If your license has been suspended or revoked as a result of violations such as a DUI or multiple citations, you will not be allowed to renew it until you have completed the necessary requirements for reinstatement.

    Visit DMV.org’s Suspended License section for additional information, including steps for getting your suspended license reinstated. And don’t forget to shop for insurance to see how your rates may have been affected since your suspension.

    Check Your Arkansas License Renewal Notice

    To help remind residents of the need to renew their license, the DFA sends a renewal notice by mail, which will also indicate if you must take a vision test and/or have any outstanding tickets or fines that need to be paid.

    If you didn’t receive a license renewal notice, you still must renew your license before it expires. To ensure that you receive your renewal notices, make sure to always update your personal information with the DFA for things such as a change of address or a name change, as they are only able to use what’s on file.

    Renew Your AR Driver’s License

    Currently, the AR DFA does not allow residents to renew their licenses online or by mail, unless you are out of state (see below). Therefore, to renew your license, you must go in person to your local Revenue office. Make sure you bring:

    • Your soon-to-be expired driver's license.
    • Payment for the $20 renewal fee, using cash or a check/money order made payable to the AR DFA.
    • Corrective lenses or contacts for the vision test, if necessary.

    You will be issued your renewed license before you leave. Note: If you ever lose it, make sure you get your license replaced ASAP.


    Out-of-State Arkansas License Renewal

    If you are working or going to school out-of-state, or a member of the armed services serving abroad, and your Arkansas driver’s license is about to expire, you may renew it by mail. To renew by mail, you must request to have a renewal application sent to your present out-of-state address by doing one of the following:

    • Calling (501) 682-7059
    • E-mailing the DFA
    • Sending a letter of request to:
      • Driver's License Issuance
      • Room 2120
      • P.O. Box 1272
      • Little Rock, AR 72203

    If you send a request by e-mail or letter, make sure to include your:

    • Full name as it appears on your license
    • Driver’s license number or Social Security number
    • Permanent Arkansas address
    • Temporary out-of-state address
    • Contact phone number

    Once you receive your application:

    • Complete the renewal application in full.
    • Include your $20 renewal fee in the form of a check or money order made payable to the "Department of Finance and Administration."
    • Return everything to:
      • Driver's License Issuance
      • Room 2120
      • P.O. Box 1272
      • Little Rock, AR 72203

    Lost AR Driver’s License

    If you get behind the wheel, you have to have your license. So if your license was stolen or lost, you need to get a replacement, or you risk getting a ticket if you get pulled over.

    Update Your Driving Skills

    People aren’t automatically good drivers just because they have a license. That's why, although it is not required, taking a supplemental traffic school class every once in a while will help you freshen up on your traffic law knowledge. It may even lower your insurance rates, as some companies offer breaks for taking a class. Call your company to find out if they provide rate reductions for completing a traffic school course. If they don’t, you might want to check with other companies to see who will.

    Organ Donation Survey

    Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?

    Yes No

    Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.

    Update Your Organ
    Donor Information ▸