DMV Point System in Arkansas
Driving Record Points in Arkansas
The driver point system in Arkansas is designed to control bad and dangerous driving behavior. When you have an accident or commit a traffic violation, you will be penalized by the Office of Driver Services' Driver Control Section. They place and track the points on your AR driving record.
Too many driving record points can lead to:
- Driver's license suspensions.
- Higher car insurance rates.
- Mandatory completion of defensive driving/traffic school.
- Community service and fines.
For more information about driver's license suspensions, reinstatements, driving records, and defensive driving courses, please visit our pages on the following topics:
On this page you'll find some general information about the driving record point system in Arkansas.
You can assume that any safety-related traffic violations will work against you in the points system. The amount of points per violation depend on the level of severity; for example, you will receive fewer points for a seat belt violation and many more for evading arrest.
For a complete list of traffic violations, you'll want to read through the vehicle code and study the rules of the road as explained in your driver handbook. Common sense will steer you in the right direction to avoid traffic violations such as:
- Drinking and driving.
- Following too closely.
- Excessive speeding.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Driving the wrong way on a one way street.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your Arkansas driver’s license, you can order a driving record report.
The points on your AR driver's license/driving record accumulate year by year. The system allows some to be removed, but if you reach the following thresholds, you will have to face the consequences:
- Warning letter: 10 to 13 points.
- Suspension for 3 months: 14 to 17 points.
- Suspension for 6 months: 18 to 23 points.
- Suspension for 1 year: 24 points or more.
Before your driver's license is suspended, you can request a hearing and plea your case. There are hearing officers ready to work with you; the Arkansas Office of Driver Services (ODS) wants the system to be fair.
To have your Arkansas driver's license reinstated, you'll need to fulfill all the requirements of your suspension. That can mean mandatory completion of a driver improvement course or, if your suspension is for driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol, you may have to complete an approved rehabilitation program. When you are ready, contact the Arkansas Driver Control Section to begin the process.
For more information, see our Suspended License in Arkansas page.
The reinstatement fee can be expensive; add to that the cost of rehabilitation or a driver improvement course and you will spend a lot of money earning back your driver's license. Finally, there will be insurance premium rate hikes and even loss of income if you couldn't get to work without driving (at your hearing, be sure to ask about driving permits for work).
Driving safe and being responsible can help you avoid committing traffic violations and, as a result, receiving traffic tickets and driving record points. You should always pay attention, drive defensively, and stay distraction-free. Also, avoid alcohol when driving, and get plenty of rest before a trip.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!