Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Personal Injury Attorneys in Arkansas

    SUMMARY: Personal Injury Attorneys in Arkansas

    When you get injured in an accident, a personal injury attorney can help you get compensated for your injuries and their effects. You may actually be entitled to various types of damages you didn't realize you could seek. Make sure you take the appropriate steps after your accident to ensure you comply with the law and provide evidence that will help your personal injury claim.

    NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.

    Unfortunately, accidents do happen. If you are involved in one, you need to fill out the proper paperwork, notify your insurance company, and consult with an attorney. In today's environment of expensive health care and insurance premiums, accidents and injuries can have a tremendous financial impact.

    How a Personal Injury Attorney Can Help

    After a personal injury, you may have to do deal with any or all of the following:

    • Pain.
    • Doctor visits.
    • Hospital stays.
    • Mounting bills from medical care.
    • Wage loss from inability to work.
    • Emotional trauma.
    • Negotiations with the insurance company.
    • Vehicle repairs.

    When you're attempting to handle all of the above while recovering from an injury, you can find yourself confused, overwhelmed, and in a hurry to get it over with. This can lead you to accept a settlement from your insurer early. Your insurer wants you to do this, before you realize the full extent of your injuries.

    With the help and legal know-how of a personal injury attorney, you're much less susceptible to accepting less than you deserve.

    Types of Damages for Personal Injury

    Your attorney will know the range of damages you're entitled to. Based on your accident and injury, these could include compensation for:

    • Medical bills.
    • Lost wages.
    • Loss of opportunities.
    • Pain and suffering.
    • Emotional trauma due to the accident.
    • Reduced quality of life.
    • Loss of companionship.
    • Permanent disability or disfigurement.
    • In-home care.

    Speak to your attorney about the types of damages for which you may be eligible.

    Steps to Take After an Accident

    When you are involved in a vehicle accident with damages of more than $1,000 or personal injury, you must file an accident report. The Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles offers the form online.

    The Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form SR-1) can be filled out anytime during the first 30 days following your accident. The form is easy to complete, although your insurance company is willing to help if needed.

    There are sections of the form your authorized agent must complete. Consider doing the form together, if time and schedules permit.

    When using the online form to file your accident report, you'll need detailed information on all vehicles and drivers involved:

    • Vehicle makes.
    • Vehicle years.
    • Vehicle license numbers.
    • Driver's license numbers.
    • Details of the accident, including time, place, circumstances, witnesses, and weather conditions.

    See a Doctor

    Many accidents involve vehicle damage and also personal injury. It is always a good idea to get a medical evaluation because some injuries don't show up right away. Seeing a doctor for a medical evaluation immediately will ensure you have proof that you sought medical care after the accident. This is important to have when you seek damages for your injuries.

    With the help and legal know-how of a personal injury attorney, you're much less susceptible to accepting less than you deserve.

    Please enter your zip code, OR city and state abbreviation


    Choose a County

    Related Content

    Provide Feedback

Looking for Personal Injury Attorneys in Another State?