New to Arkansas
Once you've moved to Arkansas, there are a few things you need to take care of—such as applying for an AR driver's license and transferring your car registration to the Office of Motor Vehicle (OMV). You'll also need to register to vote in your new Arkansas county. Active-duty military members may have separate exemptions and requirements when it comes to vehicle registration and absentee voting.
DMV-related services in Arkansas are split up into the following offices under the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration:
- Office of Motor Vehicle (OMV).
- Office of Driver Services (ODS).
Office of Motor Vehicle
The Office of Motor Vehicle in Arkansas is responsible for the following vehicle administration services:
- Vehicle registration.
- Registration renewal.
- Vehicle titling.
- License plates and placards.
- Boat registration.
Office of Driver Services
The Office of Driver Services is responsible for the following driver licensing services:
- Driver's licenses and renewals.
- Non-driver ID.
- Commercial driver's licenses (CDL).
- Driver records.
- Car insurance verification.
Other State Agencies
The Arkansas Judiciary is responsible for the enforcement of traffic tickets within the state. Procedures and fines related to traffic tickets may vary depending on the county where the ticket was written.
Although voter registration applications can be picked up at an ODS office, the Arkansas Secretary of State (SOS) oversees voter registration within the state and provides detailed election-related information. See below for more info on voter registration in Arkansas.
If you're new to Arkansas, the state requires that you register your vehicle within 30 days of establishing residency. You can review the entire registration process on our Car Registration in Arkansas page.
If you're going to operate a unique vehicle such as an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), a motorhome, or a recreational vehicle (RV), the process of registration varies a little. To find out more, please visit our Arkansas Special Vehicle registration page.
Now that you've moved to a new state, this is a perfect time to find a new auto insurance provider. To make sure you're getting the best possible value, be sure to visit our Car Insurance in Arkansas page.
The Arkansas OMV currently does not require any smog or emissions inspections prior to registering your car. You may however, be required to undergo a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection.
You must transfer your out-of-state driver's license for an AR license within 30 days of establishing residency in the state.
If you are a teenager, you must meet the AR OMV's graduated driver licensing (GDL) requirements before you can qualify for a full, unrestricted driver's license. For more information, visit our following pages:
If you don't drive, you can apply for an identification card with the AR Office of Motor Vehicle. To find out how, just visit our Identification Cards in Arkansas page.
When moving to a new state, many people overlook updating their voter registration. Avoid falling into this category by checking out our guide to Arkansas Voter Registration.
If you are an out-of-state resident who is on active duty stationed in Arkansas, our page for drivers in the military may be useful to you. Find information about using your out-of-state driver's license and vehicle while you're temporarily in Arkansas, and other information for your family.
If you need to know where the closest Arkansas OMV office is, you can do so by using our handy DMV Office Finder.
You may also find it helpful to review some of the OMV's useful guides:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.