Motorcycle Registration in Arkansas
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
All motorcycles with engines bigger than 50CC must be registered before you can drive them on the road. Some motorcycles, mopeds, or bicycles with engines smaller than 50CC need registration only if they have a standard transmission. Motorcycle side cars, which don't have engines at all, must be registered too.
You are responsible for property tax on your new, used, or leased vehicle. Each county in Arkansas collects a personal property tax based on the assessment value of your vehicle.
For your own protection, and the protection of other drivers too, you need to purchase the proper liability insurance.
When you are ready to apply for a certificate of title, within the first 30 days after purchase, you need to bring documents with you:
- Proof of Insurance
Before your title application is accepted you must provide the correct odometer reading. This is done in a variety of ways: the back side of the title for newer vehicles with a control number bigger than 3003001, or include the odometer statement in the bill of sale. You can also get conforming odometer and bill of sale forms from any OMV office.
After you file your title application, show your property tax receipt, proof of insurance, and bill of sale, you'll apply for registration and license plates.
There is a one time sales tax to pay in addition to your registration and title fees. The sales and use tax is 6-7% of the vehicle price; if your vehicle is new, the tax can be substantial.
The OMV has many options available when it's time for choosing your license plates. If you have a special association with a school, university, or agricultural group you can ask for a special plate or if want to show support for a particular cause.
Renewing your registration must be done after you receive the renewal notice. You can complete the renewal process online, at dozens of participating Wal-Mart Stores or through the mail:
- Department of Finance & Administration
- Office of Motor Vehicle
- P.O. Box 3153
- Little Rock, AR 77203-3153
To use the online system, you must be current with your liability insurance and your county property taxes. The convenient Arkansas Star registration renewal system is available to you 24 hours a day.
You can also renew your tags in person by visiting the OMV.
Arkansas does not require vehicle inspections. Your safety is your responsibility; it's up to you to keep your motorcycle in good working order.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.