Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Arkansas
Arkansas law requires you to be financially responsible for any property damages or injuries suffered by others in a crash that you cause. For motorcyclist, the best way to comply with this law is by purchasing motorcycle insurance.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
To establish financial responsibility in this state, you need to purchase a motorcycle insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum liability coverage requirements. These requirements help make sure you’re able to cover damages your motorcycle might cause in an accident.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
Not all two-wheeled vehicles may need to be insured. The Office of Motor Vehicle (OMV) is ready to help you determine whether your two-wheeled vehicle requires liability coverage before you can title and register it. Contact a representative at (501) 682-4692.
Arkansas Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
In order to title, register, and legally operate your motorcycle, you must purchase a motorcycle insurance policy that meets the same liability coverage requirements you’d have to meet if you were insuring a regular four-wheeled, private passenger vehicle. Those requirements are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for 2 or more people
- $25,000 to cover property damage
You may find that by simply meeting Arkansas' motorcycle insurance requirements, you are not getting enough financial protection from your policy. Keep in mind that liability insurance only covers damages and injuries you cause to others. It does not cover your own injuries or property damage.
As you shop for motorcycle insurance, consider these common optional coverages:
- Comprehensive - This will help cover damages to your bike that result from things like natural disasters, or vandalism.
- Collision - This will help get your motorcycle repaired after you have been in an accident.
- Medical payments - This coverage helps pay for medical bills if you are hurt while riding your motorcycle.
These are just a few options. Depending on your motorcycle insurance company, you may have several more types of coverage available to you.
The Insurance Verification Program requires that your motorcycle insurance carrier report information about your liability coverage, and this information―which covers both new and existing policies―remains in the Arkansas Insurance Database.
You may face penalties if the information reflected in the database in not correct.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Even though you’ve already shown it to the OMV and your motorcycle insurance status is on record with the Arkansas Insurance Database, situations might arise in which you will need to show proof of your liability insurance coverage. One such instance is during a traffic stop where the officer will ask to see your proof of insurance.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Motorcycle Insurance
The penalties for having no proof of insurance might vary depending on your specific situation; however, they generally include registration suspension and reinstatement fees.
You can contact the OMV at (501) 682-4692 for exact details, as well as to find out more information about liability insurance requirements for motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, and motorized bicycles.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!