Lemon Law in Arkansas
Arkansas Lemon Law
The Lemon Law is a consumer law written to protect you from defective equipment. Basically, if your new car doesn't work properly you get a replacement or a refund.
The Arkansas lemon law explains what constitutes as a lemon, the solutions to fix the issues and the remedies available to compensate you for a car that can't be fixed.
On this page you'll find a basic overview of the Arkansas lemon law and the steps to take if you end up with a lemon.
As the consumer, you are expected to try and resolve the problem directly with your vehicle's manufacturer and the authorized dealer. The manufacturer has issued a vehicle warranty and the dealer should be able to facilitate the repairs for you.
If your new vehicle is defective in such a way that may cause death or serious injury, it should meet the Arkansas lemon law criteria. However, the vehicle is only covered for the longest of either:
- 24,000 miles.
- 24 months.
- The duration of the manufacturer's warranty.
NOTE: The Arkansas lemon law does not cover:
- The living area in a motorhome.
- Vehicles weighing more than 13,000 lbs.
You'll need to contact the manufacturer or an authorized dealer to allow them a number of attempts to repair the problem.
The manufacturer will get 3 attempts to fix your defective car. If the defect is serious and could hurt someone, it must be handled immediately.
If after 3 attempts your vehicle is not repaired, you'll need to notify the manufacturer/authorized dealer that it has a final attempt to fix the issue. Within 10 days of receiving your notification, the manufacturer must:
- Give you the option of attempting to have your car repaired at a service facility near you.
- Repair the defect on your car within 10 days of it arriving at the service station.
If your vehicle is not repaired within 10 days, the final attempt does not count.
Keep careful notes of conversations, and copies of all correspondence and receipts because if the case goes before the Office of the Attorney General, you'll need documentation.
Your defective car will be replaced or repurchased by the manufacturer if you qualify under the Lemon Law.
After attempting to repair your car and failing to do so, within 40 days the manufacturer must either:
- Replace your defective car with a new one.
- Repurchase and refund you the value of your car.
Most often, you will find the manufacturer agreeable because they want you as a lifelong customer. Negative publicity can be costly and damaging to a manufacturer or dealer.
If you are not able to settle your lemon law vehicle issue with your vehicle's manufacturer you can hire an attorney and contact the consumer department in the Office of the Attorney General to file a consumer complaint.
For more information about the Arkansas lemon law, how to file a complaint or record repairs, and contact your vehicle's manufacturer, please visit the Consumer's Guide to the Arkansas Lemon Law on the Attorney General website.
Contact the Arkansas consumer protection hotline at (800) 482-8982 with questions or to request a lemon law guide by mail.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.