Accident Guide in Arkansas
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you're involved in an accident in Arkansas that involves an injury, death, or property damage of more than $1,000 to one person, you'll need to complete the Motor Vehicle Accident Report (SR-1). You'll need to do so even if the accident was not your fault.
The report must be filed within 30 days of the accident. However, if someone is injured to the extent that completing the form isn't possible within that time period, that person may wait until they are capable of filing the report.
Be aware that accident reports completed by law enforcement personnel will not be submitted to the Department of Finance & Administration (DFA). You might find some of the information on these reports quite handy in filling out your own forms, however.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
All drivers and vehicle owners involved in the accident must promptly provide proof of financial responsibility to the DFA. The simplest way to do this is to have your insurance company complete the SR-21 (proof of liability insurance) portion of your Motor Vehicle Accident Report form. This section will require a signature and case number from your insurance agent.
In lieu of the SR-21, the state will accept various alternative methods of proof.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.