Traffic Tickets in AlabamaPage Overview
This page includes information about traffic ticket fines and penalties, methods to respond to your citation, and what to do if you’ve lost your ticket.
Traffic fines in Alabama may vary by:
- County court.
- Your age.
For information about your traffic citation and related fines, please refer to your traffic ticket OR contact the appropriate AL traffic court.
Driving Record Points
If you’re convicted of a traffic violation, points will be added to your AL driving record. Points can often result in an increase your auto insurance rates or a driver's license suspension/revocation.
Here are some examples of traffic violations and their associated points:
- Speeding (1 to 25 MPH over the posted speed limit): 2 points.
- Reckless driving: 6 points.
- Failure to follow a traffic signal (such as a stop sign or traffic light): 3 points.
- Unsafe operation of your vehicle: 2 points.
Visit our Alabama DMV Point System page for more details.
Penalties for Teen Drivers
If you are completing the graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) program in Alabama and receive a traffic ticket for violating any of your restrictions, the AL Department of Public Safety (DPS) will extend your probationary period:
- For an additional 6 months.
- Until you turn 18 years old.
You will not be charged any court costs or receive criminal penalties unless you’re cited for an unrelated moving violation.
If you violate your GDL restrictions again, your driver’s license will be suspended for 60 days.Pay Your Alabama Traffic Ticket Online
Many county courts within the State of Alabama will allow you to pay your traffic ticket instantly online. Select the court which issued your traffic ticket below and skip a trip to the traffic court.
If the Alabama issuing court is not listed above, follow the instructions on below.
Depending on your county in Alabama, you may be able to pay your traffic ticket fine:
- Will incur an additional 4% convenience fee.
- By phone.
- By mail.
- In person.
Check your ticket to get information about your payment options and deadlines or contact the appropriate AL county traffic court.NOTE: Pay special attention to whether a court appearance is mandatory.
To plead “not guilty” to a traffic ticket, you must appear in court and request a trial court date. Check your traffic ticket for instructions or contact the relevant traffic court handling your case.
Hiring a traffic ticket attorney may be helpful when you go to trial.
NOTE: Failure to attend your court appearance or respond to your traffic ticket will result a driver’s license suspension and, in some cases, an arrest warrant.
To get information about your Alabama traffic ticket after you’ve lost it, contact the traffic court in the county where you were ticketed.
You may need to provide some information, including your:
- Date of birth.
- Driver’s license number.
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you’re required to notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation.
As a commercial driver, your fines and penalties may be harsher. In some cases, a traffic violation could lead to a lifetime driver’s license revocation.
If you commit any of the following traffic violations, you could have your driver’s license suspended:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs.
- Refusing an alcohol test.
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
For more information visit our CDL Suspension page.
Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn more about the following topics:
Other Topics in This Section
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.
- Defensive driving courses in Alabama.
- Driving records.
- Traffic ticket dismissal.