Drivers with Disabilities in AlabamaPage Overview
Drivers with Disabilities in Alabama
If you have a disability and drive a motor vehicle in Alabama, you can apply for a handicap plate or placard that will allow you to park in easy-access parking spots.
To receive a handicap parking permit, you or your legal guardian must submit a completed application for Application for Disability Access Parking Privileges (Form MVR 32-6-230). Print the application online or pick one up at your local AL driver's license office.
You will have the option of receiving either a removable handicap parking placard or a handicap license plate. Displaying both is not required. The fee for the handicap license plate is $23.
For more information, please contact the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Your doctor will need to complete part of the certification process. They will need to certify that you meet at least one of the following criteria:
- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without the use or assistance of a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, or wheelchair.
- Are restricted by lung disease to a capacity that disables you (specific guidelines are stated).
- Use portable oxygen.
- Have a disabling cardiac condition according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Severely limited in walking ability due to arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
If you are unclear about the qualifying conditions, your doctor may be able to give you more specific information regarding your own disability.
Handicap Motorcycles Plates
If you are disabled and you ride a motorcycle, you may choose to purchase a special handicap motorcycle license plate for your bike. Standard registration fees apply. Contact the Alabama DPS for more information.
Local law enforcement agencies regulate parking spaces, so you'll need to check with them to determine whether your Alabama parking placard is valid when traveling in another state.
The Americans with Disabilities Act does not regulate parking permits because they are issued by local governments. Some states might offer "visitor placards" for travelers; check with the DMV at your destination to determine local requirements.
Alabama does recognize current, valid placards from other states, according to state law, so disabled visitors are welcome to use their placard anywhere in the state.
The removable windshield placards and handicap license plates are subject to periodic renewals.
The AL DPS issues handicap license plates based on the first letter of your last name. For example, if your last name begins with an "F" or an "N," you would need to renew during the month of April.
When your privileges expire, you will need to reapply by completing an Application For Disability Access Parking Privileges (Form MVR 32-6-230). If you qualify for a long-term disability after your first application, you may re-certify yourself by signing the certification at the bottom of this form.
Anyone using a handicapped parking space with expired handicap license plates or placards is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor under Alabama law.
A handicap parking space may be used only when the vehicle is transporting the handicapped individual.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog Check
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸