Lemon Law in AlabamaGet detailed Vehicle History Report in 3 Easy Steps
1. Enter Your VIN:
Lemon laws were created to offer buyers a way to obtain a refund or replacement for a defective motor vehicle. Alabama's Lemon Law covers self-propelled vehicles intended for primary use on highways. This does not include motor homes or vehicles weighing over 10,000 lbs.
If your car is 2 years old or less (or has 24,000 miles or less) and has either been repaired more than 3 times for the same defect or been out of service for at least 30 days, it may qualify as a lemon.
Dealers are not considered at fault for lemon cars. Manufacturers must bear the blame for your vehicle troubles.
Filing a Lemon Law Complaint
After complaining to the seller, you may want to file a complaint with Alabama's Consumer Affairs. You can file your complaint online or by mail. You will need to supply the receipts from your purchase and subsequent repairs, as well as documentation of all letters, phone calls, or e-mails trying to resolve the matter.
The next course of action, if you cannot get the matter resolved easily, is to consult with an attorney. Gather up all documentation and make an appointment with a lawyer specializing in consumer affairs.
Avoid attorneys who want fees up front. If you truly have a lemon, the attorney will take legal fees when your case is decided.
Accurate record-keeping is your best defense with a lemon car. Date and time stamp all documentation relating to repairs, requests, odometer readings, and wait times you must endure because of car problems.
There is a statute of limitations placed on Lemon Laws. Any lawsuit or action must take place within 3 years of delivery from the car manufacturer to the consumer.Organ Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸