Traffic Tickets in Alaska
Learn how to respond to your Alaska traffic ticket by reading this page.
Alaska traffic ticket fines, court costs, and surcharges will differ depending on your traffic violation and court handling your case. Your traffic ticket should show the total fine amount and due date.
If you do not have your AK traffic ticket, please contact the appropriate traffic court for more information.
Driving Record Points
Each time you're convicted of a traffic violation, the AK Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add points to your driving record.
The Alaska DMV will suspend or revoke your driver’s license if you accumulate:
- 12 points or more in 12 months.
- 18 points or more in 24 months.
See our DMV Point System page for more information.
If eligible, you may be able to dismiss a traffic ticket or remove points from your driving record by completing a defensive driving course in Alaska.
NOTE: The court may waive your right to this option if you plan to fight the traffic ticket.
For more information, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate Alaska court.
NOTE: Some AK traffic violations require a court appearance. Please refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate traffic court directly for specific details.
Depending on the court handling your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- By Drop Box.
- In person.
Be sure to respond by the due date shown on your traffic ticket. Failure to do so may result in additional fines and penalties as determined by the AK court. You may also pay an additional fee for online and by phone transactions.
To plead "not guilty" to your traffic ticket, you may need to submit a request to the court by mail or in person. The AK court handling your case will notify you of the date, time, and location of your trial.
For specific instructions, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the relevant Alaska traffic court.
Depending on the court handling your ticket, you may be able to search for a lost traffic ticket using the Alaska Court’s E-Pay System.
If you cannot find your ticket information online, please contact the traffic court in the AK county where you received your citation.
If you receive a traffic conviction as commercial driver, you must notify your employer within 30 days. For major offenses, you'll lose your driving privileges for 1 year. Offenses include:
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Causing a fatality from the negligent use of a commercial vehicle.
- A felony offense involving a commercial vehicle. This includes controlled substances that are made, dispensed and distributed using a commercial vehicle.
- Driving a commercial vehicle when you have been disqualified from doing so or if your CDL has been suspended, cancelled or revoked.
- Failing to remain at the scene of an accident.
You can read our Alaska CDL Suspensions page for more information.
Go to our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about the following topics:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!