Ticket Fines and Penalties in Alaska
AK traffic ticket fines vary by violation and location.
Check your traffic ticket for information about your fine; if you’ve misplaced your citation, our section on replacing lost traffic tickets can help you retrieve the information.
Like ticket fines, court costs and other surcharges vary by location. Such information might be printed on your ticket; if it’s not, you can contact your court for exact costs.
Alaska estimates that the average cost of a first offense DUI is more than $24,265. This includes fees related to jail time, court costs, vehicle impoundment, license reinstatement, and educational requirements.
Some of these fess are one-time fees (such as court costs) and others last for years (such as SR-22 insurance).
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine (or deal with the “correctable offense”).
- Accumulate driving record points (and risk license suspension or revocation).
- Pay higher auto insurance rates.
- Possibly enroll in a defensive driving course for point reduction or ticket dismissal.
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Fight the ticket in court.
- Defend yourself or hire a traffic ticket attorney to represent you.
- Give up any possibility of pleading to lesser charges with lesser penalties.
- Experience no fines or penalties if found not guilty (except for any related court costs and lawyer fees).
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Depending on your driving history, insurance provider, and policy, you could experience an auto insurance rate increase once it’s time to renew your policy. Contact your agent to ask about a possible increase after a violation, and then start shopping for lower car insurance rates online.
Traffic ticket penalties don’t vary by city or county.
Alaska Point System
According to the AK DMV, the state implements a point system for the specific purpose of crash prevention. Each violation you get carries a certain number of points―from 2 points to 10 points―and, after working with you via warning letters and in-person meetings, the DMV will suspend or revoke your license after you accumulate a certain number of points (see below).
AK Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation
The DMV will automatically suspend or revoke a driver’s license for certain violations.
License Suspension: A license suspension is a temporary loss of your driving privilege. Once that time period is up, and you’ve completed any applicable requirements, you can apply for a duplicate license. Generally, drivers must carry proof of financial responsibility in order to get their licenses reinstated. Often, this means filing an SR-22 insurance form.
License Revocation: Usually, revocations last longer than suspensions, and involve more complex requirements. Like license suspensions, license revocations often require proof of financial responsibility for license reinstatement purposes.
The Alaska Driver Manual outlines all the ways drivers can lose their driving privileges to suspension or revocation. Some examples include:
- Owning or driving an uninsured vehicle involved in an accident.
- Violating license restrictions.
- Reckless driving.
- DUI-related violations, or refusing a chemical or breath test.
- Failure to stop and render aid.
- Habitual offenses (usually 2 suspensions in 24 months).
- Committing a felony with a vehicle involving assault, manslaughter, or negligent homicide.
Drivers can lose their driving privileges for accumulating too many points, too. The DMV offers chances in the forms of warning letters and meetings with driving examiners, but you’re out of options once you accumulate:
- 12 points or more in 12 months.
- 18 points or more in 24 months.
Check our AK DMV Point System section for details.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21 Years Old
Drivers younger than 21 years old face administrative license revocation if caught operating a motor vehicle, watercraft, or aircraft with any level of alcohol in their systems. Revocation is anywhere from 30 days to 1 year, depending on the offense number.
Drivers with instruction permits or provisional licenses face penalties for violations unrelated to alcohol, too.
For example, a driver has to wait 6 months after a traffic violation before he can move on to a provisional license (if he currently has an instruction permit) or regular driver’s license (if he currently has a provisional license). Too, getting cited for violating any of the restrictions on instruction permits and provisional licenses carries penalties like a $200 fine and 2 driving record points.
For more information about penalties for young drivers, check the Alaska Driver Manual.
Penalties for Alaska Commercial Drivers
You have 30 days to notify your employer of receiving a traffic citation, and you also must notify the DMV if you got the ticket outside of Alaska.
First Offenses: Major Disqualifications
You’ll lose your CDL for 1 year if you commit any of the following offenses while operating a CMV or your regular passenger vehicle:
- DUI-related offenses.
- Refusing to undergo a chemical or breath test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Committing a felony involving a motor vehicle.
- Causing a fatality due to negligent driving or committing a felony.
- Drive a CMV with a suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified CDL.
The suspension period may be longer if you were operating a CMV placarded for transporting hazardous materials.
Second Offenses: Major Disqualifications
Your CDL becomes disqualified for life if you commit any of the above offenses a second time.
Serious Traffic Offenses
Serious offenses include:
- Driving 15 miles per hour or more over the speed limit.
- Reckless or careless driving.
- Changing lanes in an erratic or improper manner.
- Driving too closely behind another vehicle.
- Operating a CMV without a CDL, without your CDL in your possessions, or with a CDL that doesn’t have the proper endorsements or class.
You’ll lose your CMV driving privileges for:
- 60 days if you commit 2 serious offenses during a a period of 3 years
- 120 days if you commit 3 serious offenses with your CMV during a period of 3 years.
You can lose your CDL for other offenses, like violating out-of-service orders and committing railroad-highway grade crossing violations.
Refer to the Alaska Commercial Driver License Manual for more information about all the ways you can lose your CDL.Other Topics in This Section