Traffic Schools in Alaska
Alaska Traffic Schools
Alaskan drivers can take traffic school to dismiss a traffic citation, deduct points from their driving record, or receive a car insurance discount.
Traffic schools, which are also known as defensive driving courses, are approved and licensed by the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Whether a driver is taking traffic school voluntarily or has a court order to complete a program, it can provide valuable lessons about safe driving, traffic laws, and defensive driving techniques – all of which may help to eliminate future traffic violations and accidents.
On this page you’ll find information about Alaska traffic schools, options to complete a course, and the steps to take after the program is finished.
In order for a defensive driving course to count towards a ticket dismissal, point reduction, or insurance discount, the program must be approved by the Alaska DMV.
Drivers have the option of completing an approved traffic school course either online or in a classroom setting.
The Alaska DMV website provides a complete list of approved classroom and online traffic schools.
Reasons to Complete Alaska Traffic School
The main reasons to take traffic school/defensive driving in Alaska are to:
- Reduce driving record points.
- Dismiss a traffic ticket.
- Get a discount on auto insurance.
You can take driver improvement traffic school once every 12 months to remove 2 points from your driving record and avoid having your driver’s license suspended.
For further information, please visit:
Traffic school can also be used to dismiss a traffic ticket. The Alaska court will determine whether a defensive driving course can be used on a case-by-case basis. The appropriate court handling the traffic ticket should be contacted directly for details.
A complete list of court contact information can be found on the Alaska court system website.
Some drivers may be eligible to receive a car insurance discount for completing a traffic school program. Each insurance provider may have specific requirements.
Drivers over 55 years old will receive a discount for up to 3 years for completing a defensive driving course.
Both classroom and online traffic school in Alaska may take about 8 hours to complete.
Courses generally include lessons on safe driving, Alaska traffic laws, and emergency driving situations.
To complete the course, drivers may need to visit an approved testing location to take a final exam.
Upon passing the final exam, drivers should contact the court, Alaska DMV office, or insurance company appropriate to their situation.Local Traffic Schools
Choose a County
Other Topics in This Section
- Kenai Peninsula
- Ketchikan Gateway
- Kodiak Island
- Lake And Peninsula
- Matanuska Susitna
- North Slope
- Northwest Arctic