Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Alaska
As a teen, the time has finally come for you to begin the process of getting your first driver's license.
The first step towards getting your Alaska driver's license is to obtain your instruction permit. Much of what you'll need to know in order to pass the written knowledge tests can be found in the Alaska Driver Manual. Here's what you'll need to do to get your learner's permit:
- Be at least 14 years old
- Have your parent's permission
- Pass the written knowledge test
- Pass the vision test
- Pay the $15 instruction permit fee
If you are applying for a motorcycle learner's permit, you will also be required to pass the motorcycle written knowledge test.
You must hold your learner's permit for at least six months before you will be allowed to apply for a driver's license. The learner's permit is valid for two years from the date it is first issued, and can be renewed for $5.
The learner's permit is issued to give you a chance to practice your driving while under the supervision of a licensed driver age 21 or older who has held a license for at least one year. He or she must have a valid driver license for the class of vehicle you're driving, and must sit next to you, in the front seat whenever you are driving.
You must show proof that you have completed at least 40 hours behind the wheel before you will be issued a driver's license, 10 hours of which must have been at night or under other challenging conditions.
While you are driving with a learner's permit, you must always have a licensed driver 21 or older, who has held a driver's license for at least one year. You are not allowed to drive alone under a learner's permit.
If you hold a motorcycle learner's permit, you must be under the direct supervision of someone 21 years old or older who has held a Class M1 motorcycle license for at least one year.
Once you have held your learner's permit for at least six months and have practiced driving with someone 21 or older, you may apply for your Alaska driver's license.
Here's a list of all the things you'll need to do in order to qualify for a driver's license:
- Had your instruction permit for at least six months
- Have not had traffic tickets totaling more than six points against your driving record
- Have proof from your parents or employer that you have completed at least 40 hours behind-the-wheel driving experience, ten hours of which were at night, in inclement weather, or other challenging conditions
- Had no violation or traffic law convictions any time in the last six months
- Take and pass the written, vision, and road tests
The first license you will obtain is called a provisional license, which has restrictions on it until you reach the age of 18. While you hold a provisional license, you are not allowed to carry passengers younger than 21, and you may not drive a vehicle between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
Of course, there are a few exceptions. If you must drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., you may do so if you are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older, or if you are driving to or from your workplace.
Once you turn 18, these restrictions will be removed.
If you violate the provisional license restrictions, you could lose your license and have to pay a $200 fine. You'll also receive two points against your driving record for breaking the restrictions.
Also, if you receive six or more points in a 12-month period, or nine or more points in 24 months, you must take an approved, nationally certified defensive driving course or else the DMV can suspend your license.
Don't do it.
First, not only is it unwise to attempt to drink and drive, it is illegal, carrying strict penalties for doing so, and even stricter penalties if you are younger than 21.
The state of Alaska has a zero tolerance law that says any driver younger than 21 may not consume any amount of alcohol before getting behind the wheel. The penalties for doing so range from a heavy fine to jail time based on your driving record.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback