- Location: Alaska
Replacing a Lost Registration in AlaskaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) eases the wince of losing a registration certificate by making it easy to apply for a duplicate. Either you or an authorized agent must complete a Vehicle Transaction Application and pay a $2 fee. When completing the application, be sure to explain the reason for your request in the Comments section.
You can either submit this application in person at any DMV location or send it by mail (see address below).
Should you lose your vehicle's tab (the tiny registration decal that affixes to the back license plate), you must apply for a duplicate. Not only is this required by law, but it will spare you many moments of road-angst. Driving a vehicle without a tab is like driving with a giant banner that reads, "Please Officer, Pull Me Over."
Applying is easy. Simply complete a Vehicle Transaction Application, making sure you explain the circumstances of your situation in the Comments section. You can then either deliver this, along with a $5 payment, to any DMV location, or mail your application to:
Other Topics in This Section
- State of Alaska
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- ATTN: CORRESPONDENCE
- 1300 W. Benson Blvd., Suite 200
- Anchorage, AK 99503-3600
True or False
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.