Registration Renewal in Alaska
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Renew AK Registration
You must renew your vehicle every two years and sustain continuous car insurance coverage in order to drive in good legal standing. If you're considering switching to a new carrier, you can compare rates at our Insurance Center.
Scroll down to "Check Your Renewal Notice" for more information about renewing your registration.
Register a Vehicle in AK for the First Time
You must register with the Alaska's Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for the first time if you recently purchased a vehicle or established residency in the state. Our car registration page has all the information you'll need to know on how to proceed.
Register a Non-Operational Vehicle
You do not have to notify the state when taking your vehicle off the road. When you're ready to resume driving it, you must:
- Have proper ID.
- Have proof of insurance.
- Have the vehicle's most recent registration certificate.
- Have the registration fees in the form of a check or money order.
- Visit your local DMV office.
The DMV will mail a renewal notice (also called a "pre-bill" and "mail-out") approximately three months prior to your registration's expiration date. If you don't receive one, call (907) 269-5551.
Your notice will include important information about your specific renewal requirements.
NOTE: If your registration is going to expire in the next 30 days, e-mail the DMV for instructions. Include your license plate number and both your mailing and residence address.
Find your registration fee on your pre-bill or mail-out. If you don't receive one, call (907) 269-5551. Your vehicle's class and weight, as well as your county of residence, determines your fees.
As a general rule, registration fees are similar to insurance rates, in that you can expect to pay more if your vehicle is new or is a high-end model.
Avoid Late Fees and Penalties
You won't have to pay a late fee if you renew after your registration expires. You do risk, however, getting a ticket if the police catch you driving with an invalid registration.
- Make sure you're eligible to renew online. You are not eligible if:
- Your vehicle has been expired for over one year.
- Your current address differs with that listed on your renewal notice.
- Your vehicle requires additional processing (military or first-time senior exemptions, amateur radio plates, vehicles requiring proof of heavy vehicle use tax payment).
- Have your registration renewal notice. You'll need the Register Renewal Number (RRN) printed on the notice in the lower left corner to log in.
- Have your MasterCard or Visa ready to pay the fees.
- Visit the state's Online Registration Renewal and follow the instructions.
- Print the confirmation page if your registration expires within 14 days. This will serve as your temporary registration until the permanent one arrives in the mail.
The DMV will mail your new registration certificate and tab the next business day. If you do not receive the items within 14 days, e-mail the DMV.
- Locate one of the following: a pre-bill form, your last registration certificate, or a completed Vehicle Transaction Application.
- Have a check or money order for the fee. (The DMV charges an additional $10 when you renew in person.)
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Have your registration pre-bill.
- Have a copy of your last registration certificate.
- Have either a completed Vehicle Transaction Application or a letter requesting to renew (be sure to include your license number on the letter).
- Write a check or money order for registration payment.
- Mail documents and payment to the following address:
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- Attn: Mailouts
- 1300 W. Benson Blvd.
- Suite 200
- Anchorage, AK 99503-3600
NOTE: Be sure to mail your renewal documents and payment no later than the fifth day of the month in which your registration expires. Otherwise, you may not receive your new registration certificate before the old one expires.
Upon receiving your new tab, affix it on the rear plate's upper left corner.
To learn more on this topic, the DMV recommends consulting a tax attorney.
To assure your safety, especially during winter driving, be vigilant about keeping your vehicle operating in optimum condition. Some simple but vital maintenance steps include rotating your tires on a regular basis and replacing them when necessary; taking your vehicle in for annual tune ups; and changing the oil after every 3,000 miles.
Subscribing with a recognized roadside-assistance program, purchasing an after-market auto warranty, and finding a reliable and trustworthy mechanic can also help protect yourself and your check book.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.