Pay Traffic Ticket in AlaskaPage Overview
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Fight the ticket in court.
- Defend yourself or hire a traffic ticket attorney to represent you.
- Give up any possibility of pleading to lesser charges with lesser penalties.
- Experience no fines or penalties if found not guilty (except for any related court costs and lawyer fees).
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting your Traffic Ticket »
Generally, paying your traffic ticket means you’re admitting guilt and will accept any related penalties for the violation.
When you choose to plead guilty and pay your ticket:
- Your judge might give you the option to plead to a lesser offense―one that carries lesser fines and penalties. Typically, you must show up in court for such an option, and often drivers hire traffic ticket lawyers to help them get these options.
- You can pay your fine online unless your ticket states otherwise or you received a city ticket rather than a county ticket.
- The court might give you the option to enroll in a defensive driving course to dismiss the ticket; at the least, you might have the option to take the course for point reduction. (Check Alaska’s vehicle code and point system for more details.)
- Your auto insurance provider might give you a discount for completing the defensive driving course.
- If you’re younger than 21 and commit a DUI-related offense, or younger than 18 and working your way up the licensing ladder, you could face stiffer fines and penalties. Our Ticket Fines and Penalties explains.
- If your ticket is for a “correctable offense” (which should be printed on the ticket), you might only have to present evidence that you’ve corrected the deficiency. Generally this requires an appearance in court or at the applicable city government agency.
- You must respond to your ticket either within five working days of receiving it, or by the response date printed on the ticket. Please contact your court or the agency that issued your ticket if you’re not sure about your time limit.
Plead Guilty as a AK CDL Driver
During most cases, CDL holders can plead guilty and pay or contest non-criminal traffic tickets in the same way regular driver’s license holders do, but they must inform:
- Their employers within 30 days of receiving a conviction.
- The DMV within 30 days of receiving a conviction in another jurisdiction.
Plead Not Guilty
You don’t have to plead guilty and pay your fine; you can contest the ticket and fight it in court.
Learn more about the preparations and possible costs involved with pleading not guilty over at our Fighting Your Traffic Ticket section.
Most drivers can pay online as long as:
- The ticket was issued on a county level. City tickets must be paid directly to the city.
- The ticket doesn’t state the driver must make a court appearance.
If you’re eligible to pay online, visit the Alaska Court System E-Pay System.
If you can’t pay online, aren’t sure whether you’re allowed to pay online, or don’t have the means to pay online (such as an accepted credit card), keep reading.
Again, tickets are issued on city and county levels. You must pay city ticket fines directly to the city, and county ticket fines to the county court system.
Check your ticket for information about where you received your citation; if no information is included, contact your court for further instructions.
The Alaska Court Directory provides you with contact information for all the courts in the state; if your ticket doesn’t include contact information, you can use this Web page to find out how to call or visit the appropriate court.
Once you contact your court, you can find out how to pay your ticket if you aren’t able or allowed to pay online due to lack of a credit card, a required court appearance, or having a city ticket.
Most tickets include information about acceptable plea and payment options and methods. For example, some AK traffic tickets include boxes for drivers to check to indicate that they want to plead guilty or no contest, as well as an address where the drivers can mail their tickets and fine payments.
If your ticket doesn’t include any of this information, contact the court and ask about the kinds methods you can use if you’re mailing or delivering in person your fine.
NOTE: Once you decide to plead guilty and pay your traffic ticket fine, it’s crucial to handle the citation in the allotted amount of time; otherwise, you face additional fines and even an arrest warrant.
Check Your Driving Record
Accumulating points negatively affects your driving privileges; even if you enroll in a driving course, you might still have more points on your driving record than is safe.
Always check your driving record after pleading guilty or completing a driving course to make sure the:
- The violation didn’t add enough points to put you dangerously close to license suspension.
- The appropriate number of points were removed after you completed a driving course.
Check our section on the DMV Point System in Alaska to learn about the number of points certain violations carry and how they affect your driver’s license.
Often, auto insurance providers respond to traffic convictions (or guilty pleas) with increase coverage rates. Talk with your agent about this possibility, and then begin comparing insurance quotes online to find more affordable rates.Compare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Attending Traffic School for an Auto Insurance Discount
- Types of Traffic Schools
- Attending Traffic School for a Traffic Ticket
- Handling a Lost Parking Ticket
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- How to Do An Online Warrant Search
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- What is the cost of my traffic ticket?
- How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my driver’s license?
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!