Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Motorcycle License in Alaska

    In order to apply for your motorcycle license Class M1, you must be at least 16 years old and if you are younger than 18 years old, you must have had your learner's permit for at least 6 months. If you're younger than 18 years old, you are also required to have your parent's consent in order to obtain a motorcycle license.

    In Alaska, it is the law that a minor must wear a helmet while driving a motorcycle or riding on one as a passenger. For more information on motorcycle rules, check our motorcycle manual page.

    Motorcycle Driver Tests

    As with a regular passenger vehicle driver's license, you must pass certain tests in Alaska before a motorcycle driver's license will be issued to you. To qualify, you must otherwise be eligible for an Alaska driver's license, but you are not required to hold a regular passenger vehicle license in order to earn your Class M1 motorcycle license.

    Here are the tests you must successfully complete before you can receive a motorcycle driver's license:

    • The basic motor vehicle written knowledge test, if you do not hold a valid Alaska driver's license or learner's permit.
    • A written motorcycle knowledge test, if you do not hold a valid Alaska motorcycle learner's permit.
    • A vision test.

    You will also need to:

    • Pay the appropriate fees.
    • Pass a motorcycle road test.

    Motorcycle Safety Foundation Courses

    If you have taken and successfully completed the program taught by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and can show proof that you have passed one of the courses listed below, you will not be required to take the motorcycle road test. You must have taken and passed the course within the last year.

    If you took the course in another state, it is acceptable in Alaska. If you're from out of state, you will still need to go in person to your local AK DMV office to obtain a motorcycle permit.

    Here's a listing of the acceptable courses:

    • Easy RiderCourse
    • Experienced RiderCourse
    • Basic RiderCourse
    • Beginning RiderCourse
    • Motorcycle RiderCourse

    To Obtain Your M2 Motorized Cycle Permit (License)

    To drive a motor scooter or motorized bicycle with an engine smaller than 50 cc, you will need to obtain the M2 motorcycle "license" (here it's called a permit).

    To apply for an M2 permit, you must be at least 14 years old and have your parent's consent. Here's what you must do in order to obtain your M2 permit:

    • Pass a written knowledge test, if you do not hold an Alaska passenger vehicle learner's permit.
    • Pass the written motorcycle knowledge test.
    • Pass a vision test.
    • Pay the appropriate fees.
    • Pass a motorcycle road test.

    How to Obtain a Motorcycle Instruction Permit

    In Alaska, you must be at least 14 years old to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit and if you are younger than 18, will be required to have your parent's consent to obtain a learner's permit. You also need to show two pieces of identification; one that will prove your date of birth and the other to prove your identity.

    You must also do the following before you'll receive your motorcycle M1 learner's permit:

    • Pass a written knowledge test, unless you hold a valid Alaska passenger vehicle learner's permit or driver's license.
    • Pass the written motorcycle knowledge test.
    • Pass a vision test.
    • Pay the appropriate fees.

    Keep in mind that, while you are learning to drive a motorcycle, you must be under the direct supervision of a person at least 21 years old, who has held a motorcycle license in the same class for at least 1 year.

    You can contact your local AK DMV office if you have questions regarding motorcycle or motor-driven cycle permits and licenses.

    If you have just purchased a motorcycle, you might be interested in information about motorcycle registration.

    Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: