DUI Attorneys in Alaska
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
If you need assistance with sorting through the particulars of your DUI case, you may want to seek a DUI attorney to represent you. A DUI attorney can also:
- Help you understand Alaska DUI laws.
- Determine your best plea option based on your DUI situation.
- Coordinate a lesser charge with the court.
Continue reading to learn about DUI charges and penalties in Alaska. This information will help you figure out whether or not you need an AK DUI lawyer.
Once you're pulled over while driving drunk or under the influence of drugs in Alaska, the officer will have you take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test to determine whether you're intoxicated. In Alaska, you will be arrested for driving a vehicle with the following BAC levels:
- 0.08% or higher.
- 0.04% or higher in a commercial vehicle.
- ANY readable BAC for those 14 to 21 years old.
In Alaska, there is an “implied consent" law, which automatically gives officers permission to administer blood alcohol concentration (BAC) tests for alcohol or drugs.
If you refuse to submit to a BAC test, your AK driver's license will be suspended and you may also risk jail time and hefty fines.
After being convicted of a DUI, you'll face criminal penalties and administrative license suspension by the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) including:
- A driver's license revocation or disqualification by the DMV for a minimum of 90 days (1st offense).
- Mandatory completion of a drug or alcohol treatment program.
- Jail time.
A DUI attorney may be able to help you reduce your penalties and help you through your criminal case as well as anAdministrative hearing at the DMV.
After you factor in all fees associated with a DUI conviction in Alaska, the average cost of your first DUI can add up to $24,265 (as estimated by the AK DMV).
Not only will DUI court proceedings cost $5,000 or more, you may also have to pay:
- A driver's license reinstatement fee of $200 to $500.
- To have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle ($1,300 or more).
- An education compliance fee of $390 or more.
- Higher car insurance rates.
While a DUI attorney will add to these costs, the expertise of a lawyer specialized in this area may be able to reduce your overall costs in the long term.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!