Supervised Driving in Alaska
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Alaska Driver's Training
If you're a teenager applying for a new driver's license, you must complete supervised behind-the-wheel driving practice to satisfy the requirements of the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
During the learner's permit phase of the AK DMV licensing program, supervised driving allows you to practice safe driving skills and gain the experience necessary to pass your driving test.
On this page you'll find information about the Alaska DMV behind-the-wheel requirements and the next steps towards your first unrestricted driver's license.
Supervised behind-the-wheel practice is required by the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you are younger than 18 years old.
You'll need to complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving to satisfy the Alaska DMV teen licensing requirements.
You can begin your behind-the-wheel practice when you are at least 14 years old by applying for your learner's permit.
For more information, please visit our Driver’s Permits in Alaska page.
If you want to gain additional practice and safe driving knowledge, you may consider taking an optional Alaska driver's education course. Professional Alaska driver's training schools and some Alaska high schools may offer a course. For more information about driver's training/Driver's Ed programs in your area:
- Contact your local Alaska DMV office.
- Look up Driver's Ed or driver's training in your phonebook.
- Check for local driver's training programs on the internet.
With your learner's permit you'll be able to begin driving while supervised by a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old and has held his or her driver's license for at least 1 year.
Before advancing from your learner's permit, you'll need to complete at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with at least 10 hours completed at night.
The time you spend practicing your driving with a supervisor is crucial to your performance on the road test and you ability to drive alone. The guidance and knowledge of an experienced driver can help you learn about defensive driving techniques and correct any bad driving habits.
You can keep track of your supervised hours and plan your driving practice with the Parent’s Supervised Driving Program guide.
Once you have completed your driving practice, your parent/legal guardian will need to sign and complete the Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor (Form 433).
You will be eligible to move on to the next steps of the teen licensing program and obtain your provisional driver's license when you:
- Are at least 16 years old.
- Have held your instruction (learner's) permit for at least 6 months.
- Have had no traffic violations in the last 6 months.
- Have completed your supervised behind-the-wheel training/Alaska driver's training.
When you satisfy the requirements above you can schedule your road test on the Alaska DMV website.
For more information about any additional forms, fees, and documents you'll need to submit to the Alaska DMV for your first driver's license, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Alaska page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.