Drivers Ed in Alaska
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Ed in Alaska
If you are 14 years old or older and are planning to apply for your learner's permit and driver's license, you do not need to complete a driver's education course to meet the requirements of the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
However, taking driver's education or a driver's training class, regardless of your age or driver's license status, is a great way to gain familiarity with the rules of the road, learn how to operate a car and uphold the traffic laws. Most driver education classes will teach lessons in the classroom and offer behind-the-wheel experience, beyond what you can learn in the driver's handbook.
On this page you'll learn about the steps you'll need to take before you can apply for your first unrestricted driver's license.
Teen Driver Requirements in Alaska
If you are younger than 18 years old, you'll need to satisfy the teen driver requirements set by the Alaska DMV before you can obtain your first driver's license.
You can begin the process when you are at least 14 years old by obtaining your learner's permit.
Completing a driver's education program, though not required, can provide you with a foundation of safe driving knowledge and skills that will help you during the permit phase of the AK DMV teen licensing program.
While you hold your learner's permit, you'll be able to gain valuable experience behind-the-wheel. In order to move on to the next steps of the driver's licensing process, you'll need to:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving with a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old.
- Have had no traffic violations for 6 months
- Complete an approved defensive driving course if you've received 6 points on your driving record within the past 12 months.
If you live in rural Alaska, please visit the DMV website for information about obtaining your first driver's license.
NOTE: You may be able to obtain a special learner's permit if you are enrolled in an approved Driver's Ed course at your high school, community college or a professional driving school. These courses may be able to provide you with the hands-on instruction and practice you need to ace your DMV written and road tests. Please contact your school or the Alaska DMV for more information.
- Phone: (855) 269-5551
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!