Defensive Driving in Alaska
If you have received a traffic ticket in Alaska, then a Alaska State Approved Defensive Driving Course is a great way to dismiss your traffic ticket and lose the points from your driving records. I Drive Safely is a good choice for Alaska Defensive Driving Course online.
The successful completion of a course from one of the approved Defensive Driving Course may prevent violations from damaging your driving record. While in many cases a course just might get a traffic ticket dismissed, attending traffic school can also enhance your driving knowledge and skill level, and it may increase your overall safety awareness so that you, your family, and other drivers can be safer on the roads.Page Overview
Defensive Driving in Alaska
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) approves a number of online and classroom defensive driving courses (DDC), which allow you to:
- Remove points from your driving record.
- Dismiss traffic tickets with the Alaska court.
- Earn discounts on your car insurance.
A defensive driving course, otherwise known as traffic school, can also help to refresh your safe driving skills and build better driving habits.
On this page you’ll find information about when you can take a defensive driving course, why it’s important, how you can enroll in a program, and the steps you’ll need to take after completing your course.
Defensive driving courses, or traffic schools, are approved by the Alaska DMV and are offered:
- As classroom sessions through professional traffic schools.
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website provides a complete list of approved and available defensive driving courses.
Depending on your reason for taking a defensive driving course, you may need to enroll in a specific program. Be sure to find out exactly which type of program you must complete before enrolling in a course.
Usually, your choice between completing defensive driving online or in a classroom will only depend on your own learning preferences and time constraints.
Point Reductions in Alaska
Traffic convictions and violations can not only lead to fines and time spent dealing with the Alaska court system, but they can also add points to your AK DMV driving record.
Your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked if:
- You accumulate 12 points in 12 months.
- 18 points in 24 months.
If you already have a suspended driver’s license, please visit our Suspended License in Alaska page for information about reinstating your driving privileges.
Once every 12 months, you can complete a defensive driving course to remove up to 2 points from your driving record.
For more information about checking your driving record, please visit our Driving Records in Alaska page.
Dismissing Alaska Traffic Tickets
Depending on your specific circumstance, defensive driving courses can be taken to dismiss a traffic ticket, if approved by the court.
The AK court will determine if you are eligible to dismiss your ticket with traffic school based upon your driving history and the circumstances of your violation.
If approved, you should be given instructions on:
- The time you have to complete your defensive driving course.
- Whether you can take a classroom or online defensive driving course.
- Other requirements to dismiss your traffic ticket.
For specific information, please contact the court that is handling your case.
For a complete listing of Alaska courts, please visit the Alaska court system website.
Earning Car Insurance Discounts
Defensive driving course can be used to earn discounts on your auto insurance policy.
If you are older than 55 years old and you complete an Alaska DMV-approved defensive driving course/accident prevention program, your car insurance company will apply an insurance discount for at least 3 years.
Car insurance discounts may also be available to younger drivers. Contact your auto insurance provider for specific details about your option for completing traffic school and discounts that may be available to you.
Whether you take a classroom course or complete defensive driving online, your program will generally cover the same topics and take the same amount of time.
Your defensive driving course will generally take about 8 hours to complete and will cover topics including:
- Traffic safety.
- Alcohol/drug abuse, violations, and awareness.
- Alaska traffic laws and violations.
- Handling emergency situations.
To successfully complete your Alaska defensive driving course, you’ll need to pass a final exam. You may need to visit an approved testing location to take your test.
If you are taking defensive driving voluntarily for an insurance discount or driving record point deduction, the time you have to complete the course will likely be determined by your program provider.
If you are taking a court-ordered defensive driving course to dismiss a traffic ticket, you’ll need to complete your program by the date specified by the court.
Upon completion of your defensive driving course, you may need to:
Other Topics in This Section
- Contact your court with your course completion details.
- Contact your car insurance provider.
- Contact the AK DMV to reinstate your driver’s license. For more information, please visit our Suspended License in Alaska page.
- Order your driving record to check your points. For more information, please visit our Driving Records in Alaska page.